New Mexico County Insurance Authority Membership Conducts Board Elections

Grant County Manager Charlene Webb

NMC News:

SANTA FE — At its annual meeting Jan. 17, the New Mexico County (NMC) Insurance Authority (NMCIA) membership conducted elections for four geographic district directors.

Members elected Valencia County Commissioner and New Mexico Counties President Jhonathan Aragon to the Northwest district representing Cibola, Los Alamos, McKinley, Rio Arriba, Taos, Torrance and Valencia Counties. This seat was previously held by Taos County Commissioner Jim Fambro who termed out of elected office. Members re-elected Curry County Manager and NMCIA Board Chair Lance Pyle to the Northeast district and Roosevelt County Manager Amber Hamilton to the Southeast district. Luna County Commissioner John Sweetser, representing the Southwest district lost his re-election bid to Grant County Manager Charlene Webb. All directors will serve a two-year term.

“We welcome Jhonathan Aragon and Charlene Webb to the board and look forward to working with them to serve New Mexico counties through the important services provided by this self-insurance pool,” Board Chair Lance Pyle said. “We also congratulate the directors who were re-elected to their positions and thank our two departing board members, wishing them both well in their future service to this state.”

NMCIA is a county insurance pool that provides coverage for workers’ compensation, property, liability, and law enforcement for member counties. The Board of Directors is responsible for protecting the assets of the Pool, approving affordable insurance coverages for its members, and making smart decisions in the best interest of all county members. The Board is comprised of county elected officials and employees representing each of the four geographical districts, each Class A county, and a representative for each small, mid-level, and mid-level-high population county.

LOS ALAMOS website support locally by OviNuppi Systems