Cindy Eaton Honored as Kiwanian of the Year

Cheryl Pongratz looks on as outgoing Kiwanis President Don Casperson presents Cindy Eaton with the Kiwanian of the Year award at Saturday’s Installation Dinner. Photo by Greg Kendall/

Staff Report

The Kiwanis Club of Los Alamos celebrated its annual Installation and Recognition Dinner Saturday evening at Trinity on the Hill, Kelly Hall.

Cindy Eaton was named Kiwanian of the Year. Outgoing Kiwanis President Don Casperson thanked her on behalf of the club for her many contributions. He said that she “worked quietly in the background at the same job for five years” as club treasurer.

Awards were given out for perfect attendance. This is achieved through a combination of attending the weekly lunch meetings and participating in public service events sponsored by Kiwanis.

  • Jack Gehre 31 years
  • Morrie Pongratz 29 years
  • Lorraine Hartway 24 years
  • John Arrowsmith 21 years
  • Jim Baran 21 years
  • Rick Reiss 19 years
  • Ann Hayes 16 years
  • Dennis Gill 14 years
  • Charmian Schaller 13 years
  • Bob Carlos 10 years
  • Robert Cunningham 9 years
  • Fran Berting 8 years
  • Kurt Deshayes  8 years
  • Roger Stutz 7 years
  • Dale Thompson 6 years
  • Don Casperson 5 years
  • Karen Kendall 4 years
  • Louise Mendius 1 year
  • Lisa Wismer 1 year

Kiwanis Lt. Gov. Lynette Kennard installed this year’s officers and directors including:

  • President Karen Kendall
  • 1st Vice President Steve Boerigter
  • 2nd Vice President Lisa Wismer
  • Treasurer Cindy Eaton
  • Secretary Louise Mendius
  • Immediate Past President Don Casperson
  • Directors:
  • Paul Cunningham
  • Kurt Deshayes
  • Jordan Garcia
  • Chuck Kooshian
  • Michaelangelo Lobato
  • Angelee Rich
  • Charmian Schaller

Jan McDonald and friends performed at Saturday’s Installation Dinner. Photo by Greg Kendall/

Kiwanis members and past presidents Lorraine Hartway and Pat Soran. Photo by Greg Kendall/

From left, Key Club Advisor Don Casperson, Key Club Vice President Faith Glasco, Sangre de Cristo Division Lt. Gov. Elizabeth Hjelvik, Key Club President Kristen Haertling and Key Club Advisor Morrie Pongratz. Photo by Greg Kendall/

Southwest District Lt. Gov. Lynette Kennard installs new Kiwanis Club President Karen Kendall. Photo by Greg Kendall/

Kiwanian Sharon Stover and County Councilor Steve Girrens. Photo by Greg Kendall/

From left, Director Kurt Deshayes, Immediate Past President Don Casperson, Secretary and Kiwanian of the Year Cindy Eaton, Secretary Louise Mendius, President Karen Kendall, Director Charmian Schaller. Photo by Greg Kendall/


LOS ALAMOS website support locally by OviNuppi Systems