2015 Rotary-Deborah Beene Memorial Music Performance Competition Winners Announced

Rotary-Deborah Beene Music Awards winners from left, Jennifer Necker, Caitlin Dahl, Michelle Yang and Catherine Runnels. Photo by Ed Van Eeckhout



Rotary-Deborah Beene Music Awards participants, front row from left, Irene Kwon, Michelle Yang and Kate Margevicius. Back row from left, Jennifer Decker, Caitlin Dahl, Thomas Collins, Breanna Sehorn, Brandon Cullinan and Catherine Runnels. Photo by Ed Van Eeckhout
The Rotary-Deborah Beene Music Awards auditions were held Wednesday, May 6 at Fuller Lodge. 
The committee of judges included Cindy Little, Charlene Cox-Clifton and Rotarians Brian Newnam, Mandy Marksteiner and Ed Van Eeckhout. Nine students participated, with performances ranging from voice to strings, woodwinds to percussion.

The winners:

  • 1st place, $1,200Michelle Yang, violin; teacher Kay Newnam
  • 2nd place, $800Caitlin Dahl, cello; teacher Dana Winograd
  • 3rd place tie, $300 each**Jennifer Necker, oboe; teacher Aaron Lewis,**Catherine Runnels, soprano; teacher Nathan Salazar 
One thousand dollars was provided through the Deborah Beene account, which Rotary administers; another $1,000 was given by the Rotary Club of Los
Alamos; the remaining funds were provided through private donation.
The Rotary-Deborah Beene Music Awards program was established in the memory of Deborah Beene, daughter of Donald and Sara Beene, a violin and piano student who died in December 1973 while enrolled in school here. The awards are intended to assist students in their musical growth. 
The 9th-12th grade LAHS students may compete; those receiving the awards are asked to use the money toward one of the following:
  • fees for attending a summer music camp;
  • college or university music expenses;
  • purchase of a  better instrument; or
  • tuition for private music instruction.

ladailypost.com website support locally by OviNuppi Systems