United Way Executive Director has Retired

Donna Schroeder

United Way News:

Donna Schroeder has told the Los Alamos Daily Post today that she has retired from her position as executive director of the United Way of Northern New Mexico.

“I’ve been here almost six years and I’ve seen a lot of changes and a lot of things happen during that time,” Schroeder said. “My dream was to put 2-1-1 in Los Alamos and that has been accomplished. Also, my mother is 92 years old and lives in North Carolina and she is having some challenges and I really don’t want to be this for away from her now.”

The 2-1-1 Schroeder refers to is a new service to Los Alamos, which provides free and confidential information and referral for help with food, housing, employment, health care, counseling and other needs.

“I’ve come to know many wonderful people in this community but decided it was time not only to move closer to my mom but to seek new challenges as well,” she said.

The nonprofit organization is searching for a new executive director.

Current United Way staff include Marie Marroquin who serves as finance director and Carla Gray Weiser who is communication and marketing director.

Schroeder took over the helm of the local United Way in August 2006.

The organization has increased the money raised during its annual campaigns from $535,000 in 1990 to $2,807,165 in 2012.

Last year, United Way awarded $807,589 in grant funding to area nonprofit organizations.

This year’s competitive grant program is currently accepting proposals until 5 p.m. Wednesday.

The organization officially changed its name in 2005 to “United Way of Northern New Mexico, serving Los Alamos and Rio Arriba Counties.”

The mission of the local United Way is to “engage human and financial resources to improve the quality of life of the people in the communities we serve in Northern New Mexico.”

The United Way office is located at 1200 Trinity Dr. in the Los Alamos National Bank Building.


The United Way of Northern New Mexico Board of Trustees includes:

Robert B. Trapp, President
Managing Editor, Rio Grande Sun

Mark Karaffa, Immediate Past President
Director of Business Development, Los Alamos Medical Center

Stephani Johnson, Secretary

Guy Gaffney, Treasurer
Credit Administrator, Los Alamos National Bank

Nona Bowman, member

Don Cobb, member
Consultant, Department of Energy

Jill Cook, past president
Senior Vice President, Los Alamos National Bank

Jerry Ethridge, member
Executive Staff Director, Los Alamos National Security, LLC

Ken Freeman, executive committee member at large
General Manager, S.O.C. – Los Alamos

Mike Lane, member
Attorney, LA Mesa Law Firm P.C.

Carolyn Mangeng, member
LANL Retiree

Valerie Martinez, member
Business Development Manager, Del Norte Credit Union

Cedric Page, member
Executive Director, University of New Mexico – Los Alamos

Elmer Salazar, member
CEO, Cumbres & Toltec Scenic Railroad


ladailypost.com website support locally by OviNuppi Systems