Udall, Heinrich Join Push For $175 Billion Education Investment To Save 2021 School Year & U.S. Economy


WASHINGTON, D.C. — U.S. Senators Tom Udall (D-N.M.) and Martin Heinrich (D-N.M.) have joined a group of 41 Senate Democrats, led by Sen. Jack Reed (D-R.I.), calling on Senate leadership to include at least $175 billion for the Elementary and Secondary Education Relief Fund in any future coronavirus relief package.

As health and education officials develop novel coronavirus (COVID-19) guidelines, precautions, and restrictions for safely reopening schools this fall, Udall and Heinrich are urging Congress and the Trump administration to act with the same sense of urgency and provide additional federal funding to help students safely return to the classroom.

New Mexico’s K-12 public and Tribal schools – many of which are already facing severe budget cuts – desperately need these resources to adequately protect students, teachers, staff, families, and the community from the spread of novel coronavirus (COVID-19) in the coming academic year. 

“There can be no economic recovery in either the short term or the long term unless we make the investments necessary to safely reopen schools and ensure continuity of education during the ongoing pandemic,” the senators wrote in a letter to Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.) and Senate Minority Leader Chuck Schumer (D-N.Y.). “If schools are unable to reopen safely, it will be nearly impossible for many parents and caregivers to return to work. Moreover, the long-term consequences of sustained educational disruption could also hold this generation back, affecting students’ quality of life and weakening our nation.” 

“We must take urgent action to ensure that schools are ready and able to educate children this fall and redouble our efforts to close opportunity gaps that are far too prevalent in the communities suffering the greatest health and economic harm from the impact of COVID-19. As such, we ask that you include at least an additional $175 billion in dedicated funding for the Elementary and Secondary Emergency Relief Fund that was established under the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act,” the senators continued. 

“This upcoming school year will be like no other,” the senators wrote. “School districts will need to redesign the school day and be prepared to switch to distance learning as necessary. There will be new protocols for sanitation, transportation, and staffing. Schools will have to reengineer the use of space in and around the school building and reconfigure classrooms to ensure that social distancing can be maintained. More critically, they will also need to increase their capacity to support children’s well-being – including nutrition, health screenings, and mental health supports – whether in person or at a distance. One thing is certain, school is a lifeline for children in the communities hit hardest by the pandemic and the ensuing economic fallout. School must be there for them.”

The CARES Act provided a much-needed $30.75 billion down payment on education funding, but not nearly enough to help cover the additional costs from this school year while also ensuring that schools nationwide will be ready to safely reopen in the fall. Under the law, $13.5 billion went to the Elementary and Secondary School Emergency Relief Fund. New Mexico received $107.7 million in K-12 emergency relief grants, based on its share of funding under Title I, the federal government’s primary funding program for high-poverty schools. 

In addition to Udall, Heinrich, and Reed, the letter is signed by U.S. Senators Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio), Ron Wyden (D-Ore.), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Michael Bennet (D-Colo.), Mazie K. Hirono (D-Hawaii), Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wisc.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.) Tim Kaine, (D-Va.), Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), Ben Cardin (D-Md.), Margaret Wood Hassan (D-N.H.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Robert P. Casey, Jr. (D-Pa.), Tina Smith (D-Minn.), Robert Menendez (D-N.J.), Edward Markey (D-Mass.), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-Nev.), Gary Peters (D-Mich.), Kamala Harris (D-Calif.), Jacky Rosen (D-Nev.), Kyrsten Sinema (D-Nev.) Mark Warner (D-Va.) Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.), Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii), Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), Angus S. King (I-Maine), Jon Tester (D-Mont.), Tom Carper (D-Del.), Chris Coons (D-Del.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), and Chris Murphy (D-Conn.).

The full text of the letter is HERE.