State Officials Plead For Absolutely No Travel In 18 Hardest-Hit N.M. Counties From Winter Storm


SANTA FE – Gov. Susana Martinez, law enforcement, and state emergency personnel are pleading for absolutely no travel in the 18 hardest-hit counties until weather conditions improve.

They are: Colfax, Union, Harding, Mora, San Miguel, Quay, Guadalupe, Torrance, De Baca, Roosevelt, Curry, Lincoln, Chavez, Lea, Eddy, Otero, Socorro and Santa Fe counties.

In those counties, emergency personnel will actively try to keep people off roadways and in their homes. Driving is strongly discouraged throughout the rest of the state.

“Law enforcement and state emergency personnel are working around the clock to ensure the safety of New Mexico’s families,” Martinez said. “While we urge all New Mexicans to stay off the roadways as this state-wide severe storm passes through, we are pleading absolutely no travel if you live in one of the hardest-hit counties. Be prepared, stay informed, and stay off the roads.”

Heavy snow is expected to blanket the state throughout the next 24 hours. Counties east of I-25 are being hardest hit with accumulations in some areas expected to reach two feet.

Colder temperatures will make travel in these areas extremely dangerous. The storm is expected to leave the area by Monday morning, but travel conditions will still be challenging.

The New Mexico Department of Transportation reports that all of the major routes throughout the state are snow packed or icy, and road crews are fully deployed statewide. While travel is not recommended throughout the state, the worst roads are currently: 

  • I-40 from Arizona state line to Texas state line;
  • Areas of I-40 thru Albuquerque;
  • Paseo Del Norte flyover is closed;
  • I-25 north from Santa Fe to Raton;
  • I-10 between Las Cruces and Deming;
  • US 70 from Ruidoso to Roswell to Portales is closed; and
  • US 60 between Vaughn and Clovis is closed.

Crews will continue to work through the night and, once again, travel is not recommended throughout the state.