SFCC To Celebrate Kate Besser Writing Awards

The Writer, David Maidenberg. Courtesy photo
SFCC News:
SANTA FE –– Santa Fe Community College emerging writers will showcase their work during the Kate Besser Writing Awards celebration, formerly known as the Student Writing Awards at 6 p.m. today at Meow Wolf, in the Learning Lab, 1352 Rufina Circle.
The recipient of the Richard Bradford Memorial Creative Writing Scholarship also will be announced. The awards were renamed the Kate Besser Writing Awards in recognition Besser’s love of literature and creative writing.
More than a dozen writers representing the diverse community at SFCC will read from their winning works. In addition, the ninth annual winner of the Santa Fe Community College Foundation’s Richard Bradford Memorial Creative Writing Scholarship will be announced. Named for the author of the 1968 classic Red Sky at Morning, the scholarship was initiated by author Michael McGarrity, arts advocate Charmay Allred and former Santa Fe City Councilor Rebecca Wurzburger.
This year’s winners by category:
  • Poetry – Winner: Olivia Parent; Runner-Up: Sakara Griffin; Honorable Mention: Caitlin Scott
  • Fiction – Winner: Gerard Martinez y Valencia; Runner-Up: Pat Hastings; Honorable Mention: Tintawi Kaigziabiher
  • Personal Essay – Winner: Jamie Farrow; Runner-Up: Marguerite Kearns; Honorable Mention: Marylou Butler
  • Academic Essay – Winner: Tintawi Kaigziabiher; Runner-Up: Jamie Farrow
  • Creative Nonfiction – Winner: Pat Hastings; Runner-Up: Nancy Wilson; Honorable Mention: Sarah Rebekah
  • Instructor-Nominated – Winner: Carla Nagler; Runner-Up: Pamela Salcido; Honorable Mention: Kiara McCulley
  • Cover Photo – The Writer, David Maidenberg
Winners whose names appear more than once submitted more than one writing sample. The awards are sponsored by SFCC’s School of Liberal Arts, SFCC Foundation and Meow Wolf.