Rotary Bowl-A-Thon Raises Money And Spirits At Saturday Event

Gonzales Farmers Insurance Team won the team championship with members Dolores Daniels, Andrea Cortez, Naomi Cata and Jose Talachy. Courtesy photo

Johnny Abeyta was the top individual scorer of the day. Courtesy photo


ESPANOLA – Saturday morning the Rotary Club of Espanola held the 2015 Charity Bowl-A-Thon to raise money for local nonprofit organizations that the Rotarians select as community assets.

This year the Rotarians selected the Northern New Mexico Regional Art Center and the Rio Arriba Adult Literacy Program as recipients.

Espanola City Councilor Michelle Martinez with awards. Courtesy photo

Teams of four bowlers from nine different community businesses, organizations and individuals came out and paid the $200 entry fee to participate in this year’s event. This was an intergenerational tournament with bowlers ranging in age from 8 to 80.

Sponsors Fielding Teams:

  • Westgate Properties
  • Gonzalez Farmers Insurance Agency
  • Northern New Mexico Regional Art Center
  • Boys and Girls Club of Ohkay Owingeh
  • AKAL Security
  • Rio Grande Sun
  • Kelly and Trish Duran
  • Yvonne Maestas
  • Rio Arriba Adult Literacy Program

Nathaniel Baros with his ‘Lemon Basket’. Courtesy photo

The team championship went to the Gonzales Farmers Insurance team, made up of Andrea Cortez, Jose Talachy, Naomi Cata and Dolores Daniels.

Johnny Abeyta was the top individual scorer of the day and Nathaniel Baros was the good natured winner of the coveted “Lemon Basket,” the prize for the individual bowler who achieves the lowest score.

The Rotarians express thanks to all the teams and bowlers who made the Saturday event such a success.

Individual Bowlers:

  • Jay Abeyta
  • Joe Abeyta
  • Tre Abeyta
  • Jordyn Baros
  • Nathaniel Baros
  • Gurbaaz Bawa
  • Mehr Bawa
  • Naomi Cata
  • Andrea Cortez
  • Pete Cruz
  • Dolores Daniels
  • Aubrianna Duran
  • Ezekiel Duran
  • Kelly Duran
  • Trish Duran
  • Jayden Garcia
  • Michaela Garcia
  • Nevaeh Garcia
  • Miguel Maez
  • Michelle R. Martinez
  • David Pineda
  • Aditi Shah
  • Yashvi Shah
  • Gabriella Silva
  • Jose Talachy
  • Yvonne Velasco
  • John Wrerenko
LOS ALAMOS website support locally by OviNuppi Systems