Regional Coalition Of LANL Communities Meets Friday

Kurt Steinhaus

RCLC News:

The Regional Coalition of LANL Communities will hold a regular business meeting 9-11 a.m., Friday at the Los Alamos County Municipal Building, 1000 Central Ave., Suite 350.

Los Alamos National Laboratory’s Community Programs Office Director Kurt Steinhaus will make a presentation to the coalition.

Mayor Alice Lucero

Other agenda items include Espanola Mayor Alice Lucero reporting on the coalition’s recent trip to Washington, D.C. as well as recognizing Taos County Commissioner Tom Blankenhorn’s service to the coalition.

The Regional Coalition of LANL Communities is comprised of eight cities, counties and pueblos surrounding the Department of Energy’s Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL).   Founded in 2011, the Regional Coalition works in partnership to create one voice to ensure national decisions incorporate local needs and concerns.

The organization’s focus is environmental remediation, regional economic development and site employment, and adequate funding for LANL. The Regional Coalition was formed through a Joint Powers Agreement and all of the participating municipalities provide funding for the Regional Coalition’s operating budget. In addition, the Regional Coalition receives funding from the Department of Energy to further its mission of environmental remediation.

Tom Blankenhorn

The Board of Directors includes Chair, Mayor Alice Lucero, City of Española; Vice-Chair, Councilor Andrew Gonzales, Town of Taos; Sect./Treas. Mayor Javier Gonzales, City of Santa Fe; County Councilor Fran Berting, Los Alamos County Council; Daniel Mayfield, Santa Fe County; Commissioner Alfredo Montoya, Rio Arriba County; Commissioner Tom Blankenhorn, Taos County; Ron Lovato, Director of Tsay Corporation, Pueblo of Ohkay Owingeh; and Joshua Madalena, Pueblo of Jemez.

Click here to read the Regional Coalition Strategic Plan.