Quotes: The Authors Speak Series Presents Award Winning Romance and Mystery Author

Darynda Jones, award winning romance and mystery author. Courtesy photo

LIBRARY News:

Quotes: The Authors Speak Series presents New York Times bestselling author Darynda Jones at 7 p.m., Thursday, Feb. 27 in the Upstairs Rotunda at Mesa Public Library.

New Mexico’s own Jones will be part of the new season’s Quotes series, visiting Thursday, Feb. 27 for the evening Authors Speak event and giving tips to teen creative writing classes at Los Alamos Public Schools Friday.

“The grim reaper gets a shiny cool makeover in Jones’s blazing hot debut…Fast-talking Charley’s wicked exuberance and lust for life will appeal to fans of Mary Janice Davidson and Janet Evanovich.” Publisher’s Weekly about “First Grave on the Right
 
Jones is the winner of multiple awards including a RITA and Golden Heart for her manuscript “First Grave on the Right.” What are those awards? Romance fans will certainly know! Romance Writers of America (RWA), the trade association for aspiring and published romance fiction authors, gives the RITA, the highest award of distinction in romance fiction, which recognizes excellence in published romance novels and novellas.

The Golden Heart recognizes excellence in unpublished romance manuscripts and Jones has won both prestigious awards. More than 2,000 manuscripts are entered in competition for the awards each year and it is remarkable to win both. Jones writes for both Young Adults, in her Darklight series, and adult readers, in the Charlie Davidson series. Crossing genres, her books are detective stories, paranormal (with the grim reaper as a main character) and spicy romance novels.

Romance novels are defined as works that focus on a developing romantic relationship and have an optimistic ending. Jones, who has been telling and writing stories since childhood, must be optimistic with the success her multiple series have enjoyed.

About the Authors Speak Series

Quotes: The Authors Speak Series is a monthly event featuring New Mexico’s authors speaking about their writing on a variety of subjects such as local and state history, travel, outdoor activities, New Mexico fiction, arts and culture, poetry and more. The series is funded by the Friends of Los Alamos County Libraries. The talks are free and begin at 7 p.m., followed by the opportunity to meet the authors and enjoy refreshments.

 

Previous
Next
CSTsiteisloaded