Adult-Use Cannabis Sales Start Today In New Mexico


SANTA FE — The Cannabis Control Division of the Regulation and Licensing Department (NMRLD) Thursday, in advance of the start of adult-use cannabis sales in New Mexico today, provided guidance to consumers to safely participate in this new market.

“New Mexicans are excited and ready to enjoy high-quality, never-before-available, legal cannabis products,” NMRLD Superintendent Linda Trujillo said, “and we are excited to see doors opening to consumers tomorrow for the first time. However, it is important that everyone knows the rules so that consumption in our state is always safe and responsible.”

A list of frequently asked questions for consumers is available here.

Below are the two most common questions with answers:

  • Can I smoke cannabis in public?

No. Smoking cannabis in public is prohibited by the Cannabis Regulation Act and is punishable with a citation and a fine up to $50.

Public consumption of any kind, including edibles, is prohibited.

The best place for New Mexicans to smoke or consume cannabis is at their home or another private residence.

  • How much cannabis can I buy?

A consumer can purchase up to 2 ounces of cannabis, 16 grams of concentrate and 800 mg of edibles at one time. The is the same amount that a consumer can legally possess in public. There is no weekly or monthly limit to how much a consumer can purchase. However, any amount of cannabis above the legal possession limits must be stored in a private residence out of public view.

To date, 151 retail licenses have been issued by the state, covering nearly 250 locations. However, not all locations will be open Today. The CCD encourages consumers to do their research online and find a retailer near them that is open for business.

The CCD also advises anyone buying cannabis to consume responsibly.

“Start low and go slow,” Cannabis Control Division Director Kristen Thomson said, referring to starting with a product that has a low level of THC and only slowly increasing consumption once someone has a sense how their body is responding. “Even more importantly, though, New Mexicans must remember not to drive after consuming cannabis. Driving under the influence puts consumers and others on the road at risk. Law enforcement will be doing their job to keep roads safe. We encourage anyone who plans to consume to have a designated driver or use a taxi or ride-share service.”

The Cannabis Regulation Act, passed by the Legislature and signed by the Governor last year, called for sales of adult-use cannabis to begin no later than April 1. The new industry is projected to generate $300 million annually in sales, create 11,000 jobs and bring in $50 million in state revenue in the first year alone.

LOS ALAMOS website support locally by OviNuppi Systems