NCRTD Welcomes Town Of Taos

Taos Mayor Daniel Barrone


The Town of Taos has joined the North Central Regional Transit District (NCRTD) as a full member to its Board of Directors.

Named to represent the Town on the NCRTD Board is Town of Taos Mayor Daniel Barrone. As a commissioner representing Taos County, Barrone has served as Board Chair since 2012. His seat on the County Commission will expire in January. 

The NCRTD Board is comprised of thirteen city councilors, county commissioners and tribal representatives from throughout the four-county District. The addition of the Town of Taos brings the number now to fourteen. Rio Metro RTD also serves as an ex-officio/non-voting member.

The NCRTD has served the Town of Taos since 2008 providing its residents with access throughout the County, down to Española, Santa Fe and beyond.

The North Central Regional Transit District provides free bus service Monday through Friday to a service area that encompasses more than 10,000 square miles of north central New Mexico including the counties of Los Alamos, Taos, Rio Arriba and Santa Fe; the Cities of Santa Fe and Española and the Towns of Taos and Edgewood; as well as the Pueblos of Pojoaque, Ohkay Owingeh, Nambé, San Ildefonso, Santa Clara and Tesuque.

The company’s signature “RTD Blue Buses” provide additional transit connections to Los Alamos Atomic City Transit, New Mexico Rail Runner, Santa Fe Trails, New Mexico Park and Ride, Taos Chile Line and Red River Miner’s Transit. All of its buses are equipped with bike racks and are ADA accessible.

LOS ALAMOS website support locally by OviNuppi Systems