May the Best Candidate Win…

Republican candidates Roger Waterman, left, and Marc Clay wish each other luck after filing in the County Clerk’s Office Tuesday for Los Alamos County Council. Photo by Carol A. Clark/

Three Republicans and three Democrats filed their candidacies Tuesday in the Los Alamos County Clerk’s Office for three open seats on county council and one Democrat and one Republican filed for county clerk.

With just one candidate per party per seat in this year’s race, the June primary election is essentially a formality because all eight candidates are assured a spot on the ballot in the November general election. 

Republican candidates Vincent Chiravalle, Marc Clay and Roger Waterman paid their $50 fees and filed to run for one of three available seats on council early Tuesday morning.

Incumbent Vincent Chiravalle files for county council Tuesday at the County Clerk’s Office. Photo by Carol A. Clark/

Democrats Kristin Henderson, Ken Johnson and Pete Sheehey filed for the same three seats over the lunch hour.

With her term ending Dec. 31, County Council Chair Sharon Stover threw her hat in the ring for county clerk on the Republican ticket.

County Clerk Janet Foster is not seeking reelection.

Stover was out of town most of Tuesday so her husband Steve Girrens served as her proxy. He also is her campaign treasurer.

Steve Girrens speaks with Bureau of Elections Manager Gloria Maestas, center, and Deputy Clerk Naomi Maestas at the County Clerk’s Office Tuesday as he files his wife Sharon Stover’s candidacy for county clerk. Photo by Carol A. Clark/

“By virtue of my role on the New Mexico Association of Counties Executive Committee and also serving on that board, I became aware of some of their issues and I learned some things and this position seems very appealing to me,” Stover said during an airport telephone interview Tuesday morning. “I spoke with former County Clerk Mary Pat Kraemer and she was very encouraging … I enjoy serving the county and this gives me another opportunity to continue that service.”

Democrat Nathan Hjelm also filed for county clerk. Hjelm initially ran for council in the last election but withdrew his candidacy, citing time contrainst.

From left, County Assessor JoAnn Johnson, Council candidate Pete Sheehey and Deputy Clerk Naomi Maestas wait to hear Chief Deputy Clerk Sheryl Nichols read the first name Johnson drew from the bowl to determine candidate ballot rankings for the June primary election. Photo by Carol A. Clark/

Sheehey, his wife Naishing and Chiravalle’s mother Marie Chiravalle arrived at the County Clerk’s Office Tuesday in time see County Assessor JoAnn Johnson draw candidate names from a bowl just after the filing day closed at 5 p.m., to determine ballot positions.

Johnson drew Sheehey’s name first, which assures him the top spot on the ballot for the council race on the Democratic side. Johnson gets second billing followed by Henderson.

Clay won the top spot on the GOP ballot for council. Chiravalle came in second, followed by Waterman.

Los Alamos County Democratic Party Chair Mike Wheeler stopped by the County Clerk’s Office Tuesday to check the candidate lineup for the 2012 primary election. Photo by Carol A. Clark/

The primary election is June 5. Voter registration closes May 8, the same day that absentee voting begins. Early voting begins May 19. The 2012 general election is Nov. 6.

Registered voters assigned to any precinct in Los Alamos County may vote at any of the following Voter Convenience Centers on Election Day:

  • White Rock Fire Station #3, 129 N.M. 4
  • Los Alamos County Community Building, 475 20th St.
  • Trinity on the Hill Episcopal Church, 3900 Trinity Dr.

With this year’s three Voter Convenience Centers – there is no wrong place to vote.


LOS ALAMOS website support locally by OviNuppi Systems