LAHS Wrestling Team Repeats 2-4A District Title

Corey Geyer, first, win by pinfall. Photo by Roger Brewer

John Dermer, third, forfeit. Photo by Roger Brewer

By Roger Brewer

Saturday, Feb. 16, the Los Alamos High School Wrestling Team took the 2-4A District title for the second straight year.

LAHS won by more than 30 points over second place Capital. Bob Geyer was honored as District Coach of the Year.

As a reward for their efforts at District, all LAHS Varsity wrestlers qualified for State.

Los Alamos was led by five wins in the following weight classes:

  • Chandler Lauritzen, first, win by pinfall
  • Lane Saunders, first, win 4-1
  • Corey Geyer, first, win by pinfall
  • Arnoldo Ortiz, first, win by tech-fall, 16-0
  • Diego Madrid, first, win 8-7
  • Alexander Palmer, third, win 5-3
  • John Michael Romero (Peanut), second, loss by pin
  • Dominique Montoya, fourth loss 0-3
  • Aaron Hinojos, third, win by pin
  • Hunter Gustafson, fourth, loss by pin
  • Ben Mitsunaga, fourth, loss 8-5
  • Brian Geyer, second, loss by pin
  • Peter Brewer, fourth, loss by pin
  • John Dermer, third, forfeit.

Diego Madrid won the most exciting bout of the day against Bernallio. Madrid earned a key 2 points on a reversal as the clock was ticking down in the final period of the last bout of the day for Los Alamos.

LAHS graduates six varsity wrestlers this year. The six wrestlers are John Michael Romero, Ben Mitsunaga, Aaron Hinojos, Corey Geyer, Arnoldo Ortiz and Diego Madrid.

Ben Mitsunaga, fourth, loss 8-5. Photo by Roger Brewer

Lane Saunders, first, win 4-1. Photo by Roger Brewer

Aaron Hinojos, third, win by pin. Photo by Roger Brewer

Peter Brewer, fourth, loss by pin. Photo by Roger Brewer

LOS ALAMOS website support locally by OviNuppi Systems