LAHS Students Earn AP Scholar Awards

LAPS News:

Eighty-one students at Los Alamos High School have earned AP scholar Awards in recognition of their exceptional achievement on AP Exams.

The College Board’s Advanced Placement Program® (AP®) provides willing and academically prepared students with the opportunity to take rigorous college-level courses while still in high school, and to earn college credit, advanced placement, or both for successful performance on the AP Exams.

About 22 percent of the 2.2 million students worldwide who took AP Exams performed at a sufficiently high level to also earn an AP Scholar Award. The College Board recognizes several levels of achievement based on students’ performance on AP Exams.

At Los Alamos High School, 10 students qualified for the National AP Scholar Award by earning an average score of four or higher on a five point scale on all AP Exams taken, and scores of four or higher on eight or more of these exams. These students are Daniel Ahrens, George Barnum, Alexandra Berl, Sudeep Dasari, Matthew Davenport, Colin Hemez, Ju Hyun Lee, Alexander Swart, Lauren Tencate and Alexandr Wang.

Jing Xie qualified for a State AP Scholar Award. The designation of State AP Scholar is granted to the one male and one female student in each U.S. state and the District of Columbia with scores of three or higher on the greatest number of AP Exams, and then the highest average score (at least 3.5) on all AP Exams taken.

Forty-two students qualified for the AP Scholar with Distinction Award by earning an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP Exams taken, and scores of three or higher on five or more of these exams. These students are: Daniel Ahrens, Thomas Barks, George Barnum, Nikita Belooussov, Daniel Ben-Naim, Charlotte Berg, Alexandra Berl, Stephanie Blair, Melanie Boncella, Jared Borrego, Gerald Collom, Sudeep Dasari, Bridget Daughton, Matthew Davenport, Tristan Goodwin, Alexandra Hehlen, Colin Hemez, Astrid Hengartner, Jacob Holesinger, Sakura Kawano, Jacqueline Kieltyka, Emma Lathrop, Ju Hyun Lee, Benjamin Liu, Katharine Margevicius, Amanda Mercer, Charles Mielke, Aniruddha Nadiga, Mirelle Naud, Ben Nguyen, Nathan Phillips, Danielle Prokop, Colin Redman, James Sinnis, Alexander Swart, Vincent Tang, Lauren Tencate, Alexandr Wang, Harrison Williams, Jing Xie, Justine Yang and William Zhao.

Twenty-eight students qualified for the AP Scholar with Honor Award by earning an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP Exams taken, and scores of three or higher on four or more of these exams. These students are: Esteban Abeyta, Elena Atencio, Safiya Bahar-Yanicak, Sarah Bouquin, Haley Bridgewater, Lauren Burr, Steven Calhoun, Chelsea Challacombe, Ethan Clements, Hannah Cunningham, Justine Dombrowski, Justin Dunn, Hannah Dye, Jeremy Goettee, Dakota Klasky, Ariel Koh, Megan Kuzmack, Helen Lu, Eric Paige, Kimberly Pestovich, Emily Pittman, Hannah Purtymun, Jonathan Schueler, Alice Shao, Allyssa Tedder, Ashvini Vaidya, Michael Walker and Madeline Whitacre.

Forty-five students qualified for the AP Scholar Award by completing three or more AP Exams with scores of 3 or higher. The AP Scholars are: Nathan Aguirre, Zachary Andres, Ashlynn Bennett, Owen Bradbury-Aranda, Dallon Burnside, Devon Conradson, Alison Crane, Eleanor Devlin, Ben Duan, Sally Grindstaff, Amy Grothaus, Emma Haines, Donald Haynes, Haley Henson, Elizabeth Hjelvik, Richard Jia, Luke Kachelmeier, Chloe Keilers, Darby Knoll, Erin Kober, Felicity Kubic, Soumyo Lahiri-Gupta, Madeleine Le Scouarnec, Gianna Maggiore, Calvin McKinley, Maria Jaleh McTeigue, Rebecca Mehlin, Melinda Mesibov, Austin Orr, Mikayla Pulliam, Benjamin Reichelt, Rozalyn Richmond, Joseph Roback, Erick Rodriguez, Samuel Sherrill, Sara Stubben, Cameron Tauxe, Skyler Veenis, Maria Venneri, Sarah Wallstrom, Daniel Wang, Katherine Wang, Samuel Wang, Anna Wermer and Anna Zerkle.

Of this year’s award recipients at Los Alamos High School, 42 were sophomores or juniors during the 2013-2014 school year: Esteban Abeyta, Daniel Ben-Naim, Sarah Bouquin, Steven Calhoun, Chelsea Challacombe, Gerald Collom, Sudeep Dasari, Eleanor Devlin, Ben Duan, Sally Grindstaff, Donald Haynes, Astrid Hengartner, Jacob Holesinger, Luke Kachelmeier, Chloe Keilers, Dakota Klasky, Erin Kober, Felicity Kubic, Megan Kuzmack, Madeleine Le Souarnec, Helen Lu, Gianna Maggiore, Katharine Margevcius, Aniruddha Nadiga, Eric Paige, Kimberly Pestovich, Colin Redman, Benjamin Reichelt, Jonathan Schueler, Alice Shao, Samuel Sherrill, James Sinnis, Sara Stubben, Alexander Swart, Vincent Tang, Cameron Tauxe, Ashvini Vaidya, Sarah Wallstrom, Daniel Wang, Katherine Wang, Harrison Williams and William Zhao.

These students have at least one more year in which to complete college-level work and possibly earn a higher-level AP Scholar Award. Through 34 different college-level courses and exams, AP provides willing and academically prepared students with the opportunity to earn college credit or advanced placement and stand out in the college admission process. Each exam is developed by a committee of college and university faculty and AP teachers, ensuring that AP Exams are aligned with the same high standards expected by college faculty at some of the nation’s leading liberal arts and research institutions.

More than 3,600 colleges and universities annually receive AP scores. Most four-year colleges in the United States provide credit and/or advanced placement for qualifying exam scores. Research consistently shows that AP students who score a three or higher on AP Exams (based on a scale from one to five, with five being the highest) typically experience greater academic success in college and have higher college graduation rates than students who do not participate in AP.

The College Board is a mission-driven not-for-profit organization that connects students to college success and opportunity. Founded in 1900, the College Board was created to expand access to higher education. Today, the membership association is made up of over 6,000 of the world’s leading educational institutions and is dedicated to promoting excellence and equity in education.

Each year, the College Board helps more than seven million students prepare for a successful transition to college through programs and services in college readiness and college success — including the SAT® and the Advanced Placement Program. The organization also serves the education community through research and advocacy on behalf of students, educators and schools.