Hilltopper Boys Golf Claims Los Alamos Invite

The LAHS Golf team with their 1st place trophy after winning the LAHS invite. Courtesy Photo


By RJ Montaño
Los Alamos Daily Post

It’s a long season for boys’ golf in New Mexico, and the Los Alamos Hilltoppers golf team got the ball rolling by capturing the 10-team Los Alamos High School Invite title this past weekend with a team score of 325. The ‘Toppers were led by team captain Sean Rau who posted a team low 76 to tie for second place. Hope Christian’s Jacob Lucero would win the individual title with a final score of 71.

“Being our first event of the fall, the [boys] came out of the box a bit rusty. We struggled off the tee and our chipping and putting was not as strong as it has been. I was happy with the competitiveness the team demonstrated even though we didn’t have our best stuff. The boys played hard. Senior Captain Sean Rau had a solid round going before his double-bogey finish,” Head Coach Anders Ainsworth said after the invite.

A top contender for the New Mexico boy’s golf championship, Los Alamos finished the invite strong, with five players shooting 85 strokes or better. But just winning the home invite isn’t enough for the boys’ golf team.

“I’m happy our boys won the golf tournament; however, we have a ton of room for improvement. We will be getting back to practice this week to work on tee balls and short game. I’m anticipating tremendous improvement in the weeks to come,” Ainsworth said.

The Hilltopper golf team has a couple weeks off to fine-tune their game before heading to play Oct. 3 in the Grants High School Invite.

Final Scores

1. Los Alamos 325

2. Hope Christian (Albuquerque) 332

3. Cleveland (Rio Rancho) 336

4. Albuquerque Academy 369

5. Belen 392

6. St. Michael’s (Santa Fe) 394

7. Grants 404

8. East Mountain (Sandia Park) 411

No Team Score: Taos, Capital

Top Individuals

1. Jacob Lucero; Hope Christian 71

t2. Sean Rau; Los Alamos 76

t2. Tanner McCall; East Mountain 76

4. Josh Gallegos; Belen 77


Los Alamos Individuals

  • Sean Rau 76
  • Henry Poston 78
  • Jacob Benelli 82
  • Logan Bishop 82
  • Davis Johnson 85
  • Cooper Frank 90
  • Landon Burk 92
  • Conner Cook 94
  • Sam Fisher 97
  • Jon Doorn 105
  • Sahib Khalsa 106
  • Declan O’Leary 128