Five Los Alamos Scientists Receive 2015 Fellows Prize

Hou-Tong Chen, Manvendra Dubey and Herbert Van De Sompel are the winners of the 2015 Fellows Prize for Outstanding Research; Rebecca Chamberlin and David Morris are the winners of the Fellows Prize for Outstanding Leadership. Courtesy/LANL

LANL News:

  • Researchers recognized for exemplary science research and leadership

Five Los Alamos National Laboratory scientists were honored for their achievements in the fields of leadership and science at an award ceremony Tuesday.

Hou-Tong Chen, Manvendra Dubey and Herbert Van De Sompel are the winners of the 2015 Fellows Prize for Outstanding Research; Rebecca Chamberlin and David Morris are the winners of the Fellows Prize for Outstanding Leadership.

“These scientists demonstrate excellence in both scientific research and leadership and represent the highest of research standards we encourage at Los Alamos,” said Dipen Sinha of Laboratory’s Materials Synthesis and Integrated Devices Group and the Coordinator for the Fellows Organization. “I congratulate all of them on their achievements.”

The prizes are awarded by the Laboratory Fellows to promote and recognize excellent technical accomplishments. The Research Prize commends individuals for outstanding research performed at the Laboratory that was published within the last 10 years has had a significant impact within its discipline or program. The Leadership Prize recognizes individuals for outstanding scientific and engineering leadership that serves the Laboratory mission.

Outstanding Research Prize

Hou-tong Chen, of the Laboratory’s Center for Integrated Nanotechnologies (CINT), is a recognized authority and international leader in defining, shaping and leading the field of metamaterials, which is supported by his many seminal discoveries published in influential journals including Nature, Science, Nature Photonics, Physical Review Letters and Optics Express. Metamaterials are smart materials that have been engineered and have not been found in nature. The impact of Chen’s innovative ideas and technical excellence has been far reaching at the international level.

Manvendra Dubey, of the Lab’s Earth System Observations group, combines significant scientific achievements with technical leadership in the international, global climate community to significantly advance our understanding of global climate dynamics. Dubey has scientifically driven and integrated Laboratory and Department of Energy capabilities in far-reaching science and technology developments. He practices a subtle form of leadership by motivating and coordinating multiple scientific teams to work toward a common purpose, generously sharing credit with all team members. His career at the Laboratory epitomizes outstanding research and sustained scientific leadership at its best.

Herbert Van De Sompel, of the Research Library at Los Alamos, introduced the concept of date-time negotiation for the web, which makes it possible to uniformly access archived pages that exist in web archives and resource versioning systems. He developed the Memento protocol, which has transformed access to Web archives. It has not only solved the difficult problem of accessing previous versions of a Web page preserved in a Web archive, but it has also enabled multiple archives to be aggregated into a single resource.

Outstanding Leadership Prize

Rebecca Chamberlin, of the Laboratory’s Actinide Analytical Chemistry group, leads the development of chemistry for advanced micro and millifluidic systems for nuclear material separations work, which is critically important to national security and has important applications in plutonium processing and purification. She also has led key efforts in analytical chemistry, nuclear proliferation detection and experimental component fabrication. Her contributions and accomplishments over the years stretch across several Laboratory missions with profound benefits to diverse programs and people.

David Morris, of the Chemistry Division at the Laboratory, demonstrated immense organizational and scientific leadership in establishing a sustainable, strong and trusting partnership between Los Alamos and Sandia National Laboratories that enabled the CINT to become a premier Nanoscience Research Center. He has an international reputation of leadership in actinide spectroscopy and electrochemistry and established the Laboratory as the best place in the world for comprehensive development in this area. He is an inspiring technical leader and recruited, supported, mentored and promoted next-generation scientists. He nominated four successful Fellows Prize candidates, one Lab fellow and one American Physical Society fellow.

Phot caption: Fellows prize recipients from top left: Herbert Van De Sompel, Dave Morris, Rebecca Chamberlin. From bottom left: Manvendra Dubey and Hou-tong Chen.

About Los Alamos National Laboratory (

Los Alamos National Laboratory, a multidisciplinary research institution engaged in strategic science on behalf of national security, is operated by Los Alamos National Security, LLC, a team composed of Bechtel National, the University of California, BWX Technologies, Inc. and URS for the Department of Energy’s National Nuclear Security Administration. Los Alamos enhances national security by ensuring the safety and reliability of the U.S. nuclear stockpile, developing technologies to reduce threats from weapons of mass destruction, and solving problems related to energy, environment, infrastructure, health and global security concerns.

LOS ALAMOS website support locally by OviNuppi Systems