AFTNM Picks Candidates For Federal Offices

AFT News:

ALBUQUERQUE — American Federation of Teachers New Mexico President Stephanie Ly and American Federation of Teachers New Mexico Vice President for Political Education Sara Attleson released the following statement:

“We are proud to stand with and endorse Rep. Ben Ray Luján for New Mexico’s open United States Senate seat and Representatives Debra Haaland and Xochitl Torres Small for re-election to New Mexico Congressional Districts 1 and 2, respectively.

“During their collective time in office, these Representatives have always put New Mexico’s issues at the forefront. We are fortunate to have their collective voices advocating on our behalf and each of these lawmakers have leveraged their expertise to confront issues close to New Mexico – like rural healthcare, respect and support for our sovereign Native American communities, and protecting our wildlife and environment – head on.

“Additionally, each of these lawmakers knows the value of a strong system of public education from birth through college or career, and that labor unions are the best pathway to achieving and preserving a strong middle class in our country. Moreover, each maintains clear and open lines of communication between their offices and the constituents they serve, and have been accountable for the votes they make on our behalf.

“We know Ben Ray, Debra and Xochitl will continue to put New Mexicans first while serving in Washington, and our union will work to ensure they are elected to continue to work on behalf of our state.”

LOS ALAMOS website support locally by OviNuppi Systems