2016 Sheriff’s Scholarship Award Recipients

LAHS graduating seniors Mikyla Smith, Joash Inoferio, Alexander Mancino, Derek Selvage, Lane Saunders and JoAnna O’Neill receive scholarships from the Sheriff’s Association during a ceremony Tuesday at Smith Auditoriam. Courtesy photo

Sheriff Marco Lucero presents scholarships on behalf of the Sheriff’s Association to six LAHS graduating seniors Tuesday evening. Recipients include Lane Saunders and JoAnna O’Neill, pictured, and Mikyla Smith, Joash Inoferio, Derek Selvage and Alexander Mancino. Sheriff Lucero congratulated the seniors and told them to embrace the joy of their accomplishments and never stop dreaming and to always be humble and kind. Emcee Morrie Pongratz and Deputy Sheriff James Leach are at right. Courtesy photo


Los Alamos County Sheriff Marco Lucero is pleased to announce this year’s Los Alamos High School Senior Scholarship recipients.

At a special awards ceremony, May 24, at Smith Auditorium, Sheriff Lucero presented six Los Alamos graduating seniors with scholarships to help them in their pursuit of higher education. A total of $3,000 was donated by the Sheriff’s Association. 

Recipients include:

  • Mikyla Smith;
  • Lane Saunders;
  • JoAnna O’Neill;
  • Joash Inoferio;
  • Derek Selvage; and
  • Alexander Mancino. 

The Sheriff’s Association honors these students along with all the graduating seniors from the Los Alamos High School Class of 2016. 

Sheriff Lucero recognizes and thanks the following local sponsors of this year’s NMSA Scholarship:

  • The Los Alamos Sheriff’s Posse;
  • Viola’s Restaurant;
  • KRSN Radio;
  • Los Alamos Daily Post; and
  • private donors throughout our great County.

“Congratulations! Embrace the joy of your accomplishments and never stop dreaming! Always be humble and kind.” –Sheriff Marco Lucero