Udall, Heinrich Resolution To Restore Net Neutrality Protections Gains Momentum In U.S. Senate

U.S. Sen. Tom Udall
WASHINGTON, D.C.  U.S. Senators Tom Udall and Martin Heinrich announced Tuesday that 40 senators have signed on to co-sponsor a Congressional Review Act (CRA) resolution that would reinstate robust net neutrality protections and the 2015 Open Internet Order.
U.S. Sen. Martin Heinrich
Last month, the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) voted along party lines to approve Chairman Ajit Pai’s proposal that guts the Open Internet Order, which the D.C. Circuit Court upheld in 2016. The Open Internet Order prohibited internet service providers from setting up internet fast and slow lanes and ensured they could not block or slow down internet traffic. Thirty members are needed to send the CRA to the floor for a vote and a simple majority is needed for its passage.
“I am pleased to announce my support for this resolution to reinstate the open internet. Allowing providers to throw up toll lanes or charge higher prices will deepen the digital divide, hurting small business owners and low-income and working families in New Mexico, many of whom are already stuck in the internet slow lane,” Udall said. “When it comes to internet policy, the FCC should be working to expand broadband access — not destroying the essential protections that keep the internet free and open.”
“As a staunch supporter of net neutrality, I was appalled that the FCC chose to ignore the comments of millions of Americans, including many from New Mexico, who want to keep these protections in place. This is another example of the Trump administration ignoring the will of the American people and doing away with commonsense protections. This decision will be challenged in court, Congress and by voters,” Heinrich said. “I’m proud to join this effort to correct the Commission’s misguided and partisan decision and fight for rules that ensure free speech, protect consumers, and preserve competition.”
Repealing net neutrality rules will affect New Mexicans in many ways – from small business owners who rely on the internet to compete with bigger companies, to students who need to access internet content for school, to the growing number of consumers who stream television shows and movies instead of paying higher costs for cable.
In addition to Udall and Heinrich, Senators co-sponsoring the CRA resolution led by Senator Ed Markey (D-Mass.) include Senators Chuck Schumer (D-N.Y.), Ron Wyden (D-Ore.), Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.), Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii.), Richard Blumenthal (D–Conn.), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.), Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Gary Peters (D-Mich.), Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.), Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.), Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.), Sherrod Brown (D-O.H.), Jack Reed (D-R.I.), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Michael Bennet (D-Colo.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Ben Cardin (D-Md.), Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaii), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Kamala Harris (D-Calif.), Claire McCaskill (D-Mo.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Bob Casey (D-Pa.), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-Nev.), Bob Menendez (D-N.J.), Patty Murray (D-Wash.), Tina Smith (D-Minn.), Jon Tester (D-Mont.), Angus King (I-Maine) and Bill Nelson (D-Fla.).