U.S. Rep. Melanie Stansbury Of New Mexico Votes To Recognize Congressional Workers’ Right To Unionize

U.S. Rep. Melanie Stansbury


WASHINGTON, D.C. — Tuesday, U.S. Rep. Melanie Stansbury (N.M.-01) voted to pass H. Res. 1096, Recognizing Congressional Worker’s Right to Organize. In February, Rep. Stansbury joined Rep. Andy Levin (Mich-09) and nearly 130 House Democrats as an original co-sponsor to introduce the resolution.  

Following the passage of the Congressional Accountability Act in 1995, the Office of Compliance and Workplace Rights ruled in 1996 that passage of this resolution was the final step to give congressional workers legal protection to organize and bargain collectively in a worker’s union. Congress’ passage of the resolution nearly three decades later is largely thanks to the Congressional staff demanding fair treatment and fair pay.  

“As a former Senate staffer, I am proud to stand in solidarity with our staffers and support their right to unionize,” Rep. Stansbury said. “I grew up in a union strong family and know first-hand the critical protections and rights that unions provide for workers across our country. Today, I am proud to cosponsor and vote to pass this Resolution to support the right of congressional workers to organize and collectively bargain.” 

  1. Res. 1096, Recognizing Congressional Workers’ Right to Organize grants legal protections for Congressional staff who choose to organize and bargain collectively. Rep. Stansbury’s vote to pass the legislation comes after Speaker Nancy Pelosi’s recent announcement of a new pay floor of $45,000 for Congressional staffers. Together with Speaker Pelosi’s announcement, the resolution will help to ensure Congressional staff earn fair pay and benefits for their work.  

The full text of the resolution is available here

Recognizing Congressional Workers’ Right to Organize is led by Rep. Andy Levin and cosponsored by 161 members of Congress, including Reps. Nanette Diaz Barragán, Karen Bass, Joyce Beatty, Don Beyer, Earl Blumenauer, Lisa Blunt Rochester, Suzanne Bonamici, Jamaal Bowman, Anthony Brown, Shontel Brown, Julia Brownley, Cori Bush, Cheri Bustos, Tony Cardenas, André Carson, Matt Cartwright, Sean Casten, Joaquin Castro, Sheila Cherfilus McCormick, Judy Chu, David N. Cicilline, Katherine Clark, Yvette D. Clarke, Emanuel Cleaver II, Steve Cohen, Gerald E. Connolly, Joe Courtney, Charlie Crist, Danny K. Davis, Madeleine Dean, Peter DeFazio, Diana DeGette, Rosa L. DeLauro, Suzan DelBene, Mark DeSaulnier, Ted Deutch, Debbie Dingell, Anna G. Eshoo, Adriano Espaillat, Dwight Evans, Bill Foster, Lois Frankel, Ruben Gallego, John Garamendi, Sylvia R. Garcia, Jesús G. “Chuy” García, Jimmy Gomez, Al Green, Raul Grijalva, Jahana Hayes, Brian Higgins, Steven Horsford, Sara Jacobs, Pramila Jayapal, Hakeem Jefferies, Eddie Bernice Johnson, Henry C. “Hank” Johnson, Jr., Mondaire Jones, Kai Kahele, Marcy Kaptur, William R. Keating, Ro Khanna, Dan Kildee, Derek Kilmer, Ann Kirkpatrick, Raja Krishnamoorthi, John B. Larson, Brenda L. Lawrence, Barbara Lee, Teresa Leger Fernandez, Mike Levin, Ted Lieu, Alan Lowenthal, Stephen F. Lynch, Tom Malinowski, Sean Patrick Maloney, Carolyn B. Maloney, Betty McCollum, A. Donald McEachin, James P. McGovern, Grace Meng, Seth Moulton, Jerrold Nadler, Grace F. Napolitano, Marie Newman, Donald Norcross, Eleanor Holmes Norton, Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, Ilhan Omar, Frank Pallone, Jr., Donald M. Payne, Jr., Dean Phillips, Chellie Pingree, Mark Pocan, Katie Porter, Ayanna Pressley, David E. Price, Mike Quigley, Jamie Raskin, Tim Ryan, Bobby L. Rush, Linda T. Sánchez, John P. Sarbanes, Mary Gay Scanlon, Jan Schakowsky, Adam Schiff, Bradley S. Schneider, Robert C. “Bobby” Scott, David Scott, Brad Sherman, Albio Sires, Elissa Slotkin, Darren Soto, Jackie Speier, Haley Stevens, Thomas R. Suozzi, Eric Swalwell, Mark Takano, Mike Thompson, Dina Titus, Rashida Tlaib, Paul D. Tonko, Ritchie Torres, Norma Torres, Lori Trahan, David Trone, Lauren Underwood, Juan Vargas, Nydia Velázquez, Bonnie Watson Coleman, Peter Welch, Susan Wild, Nikema Williams, Frederica Wilson and John Yarmuth.


ladailypost.com website support locally by OviNuppi Systems