Three Los Alamos National Laboratory Teams Receive DOE Secretary Appreciation Awards

Dimitri Kusnezov (NNSA), Sara Del Valle, Paul Fenimore, Kirsten McCabe and LANL Charlie McMillan at the April 11 awards ceremony. Courtesy/LANL

Dimitri Kusnezov (NNSA) presents Kirsten McCabe and Paul Dotson with their awards during the April 11 ceremony. Courtesy/LANL

LANL News:

Three teams at Los Alamos National Laboratory were the recent recipients of the Department of Energy’s Secretary Appreciation Awards for their exceptional contributions to the agency’s mission.

The Laboratory’s Ebola Task Force, Cancer Moonshot team and Technology Convergence Working Group were all recognized in January by then-Secretary Moniz and again in April during a ceremony hosted by LANL Director Charlie McMillan and Dimitri Kusnezov, NNSA’s chief scientist and senior advisor to the Secretary.

The Laboratory’s Ebola task force was part of a multiple-lab effort to use computer modeling to predict the spread of the 2014 Ebola outbreak. Whenever a disease outbreak occurs, the overall level and spread of disease is determined by a complex interplay of variables, including policy decisions. The U.S. government’s response to the Ebola outbreak reflected the importance of using the computer models to project the potential spread of the disease resulting from distinct policy choices—which is what the modeling led by the Los Alamos team did.

The Cancer Moonshot team at Los Alamos was recognized for its response to the government’s call to make a decade of progress in five years in the war on cancer. The Cancer Moonshot initiative aims to accelerate cancer research to make more therapies available to more patients, while also improving the ability to prevent cancer and detect it at an early stage. The technical approach combined Los Alamos’s expertise in high performance computing, bioinformatics, and cancer.

A third Los Alamos team, the Technology Convergence Working Group, which works to bring the Laboratory’s technologies to bear to address national security challenges, also was recognized.

Ebola task force team

  • Benjamin McMahon
  • Sara Del Valle
  • Alina Deshpande
  • Kirsten McCabe
  • Bette Korber
  • Karina Yusim
  • Paul Fenimore
  • Nicolas Hengartner
  • Ruy Ribeiro

Cancer Moonshot team

  • Frank Alexander
  • Paul Dotson

Technology Convergence Working Group

  • John Sarrao
  • Kirsten McCabe
  • Paul Dotson
LOS ALAMOS website support locally by OviNuppi Systems