Ten Los Alamos Scientists Honored As New Fellows By American Physical Society

New Fellows of the American Physical Society, LANL scientists Tariq Aslam, Steven Batha, Eric Bauer, Hou-Tong Chen, Diego Alejandro Dalvit, Dinh Nguyen, Alan Perelson, Filip Ronning, Alexander Saunders and Glen Wurden. Courtesy/LANL

LANL News:

Ten Los Alamos National Laboratory scientists are new Fellows of the American Physical Society.

Named this week by the national organization:

  • Tariq Aslam;
  • Steven Batha;
  • Eric Bauer;
  • Hou-Tong Chen;
  • Diego Alejandro Dalvit;
  • Dinh Nguyen;
  • Alan Perelson;
  • Filip Ronning;
  • Alexander Saunders; and
  • Glen Wurden.

“We’re extremely pleased that the technical accomplishments of our talented staff have been recognized in their designation as APS Fellows,” said Los Alamos National Laboratory Director Charlie McMillan. “It is particularly noteworthy that these selections represent a breadth of innovation in applied physics that Los Alamos uses to help accomplish our mission of protecting the nation.”

APS nominations are evaluated by the Fellowship Committee of the appropriate APS division, topical group or forum, or by the APS General Fellowship committee. After review by the full APS Fellowship Committee, the successful candidates were elected by the APS Council.

“For the APS divisions to have marked 10 of our staff for this honor speaks powerfully to the quality of our science, and to the wide range of capabilities we offer the nation and beyond.  We are delighted to be able to celebrate these excellent and innovative researchers in such complex and fundamentally important fields,” said Alan Bishop, principal associate director for Science, Technology and Engineering at Los Alamos.

Tariq Aslam: honored for groundbreaking contributions to the computational physics of detonations and shock waves, including co-inventing the ghost fluid method, mapped weighted essentially non-oscillatory schemes, Runge-Kutta-Legendre time integration, and applications of level set methods. Nominated by: Topical Group on Shock Compression of Condensed Matter 

Steven Batha: honored for pioneering investigations of forward scattering laser-plasma instabilities, hydrodynamic instabilities in high-energy density physics regimes, and leadership of high-energy-density research. Nominated by: Division of Plasma Physics 

Eric Bauer: honored for outstanding and original contributions to the discovery and understanding of correlated electron systems, specifically for the study of complex electronic states hosted by correlated actinide and rare-earth materials. Nominated by: Division of Materials Physics

Hou-Tong Chen: honored for contributions to the development of active metamaterials and devices, and the development and understanding of few-layer metamaterials and metasurfaces, especially in the terahertz frequency range. Nominated by: Division of Laser Science 

Diego Alejandro Dalvit: honored for original contributions to the interpretation of Casimir physics experiments, including fluctuation-induced interactions in nanostructured materials, thermal Casimir forces, and patch effects. Nominated by: Division of Atomic, Molecular & Optical Physics

Dinh Nguyen: honored for an outstanding record of innovation and contribution to the initial development of high-brightness photo-injectors, early experimental validation of self-amplified spontaneous-emission theory, and high average current injectors. Nominated by: Division of Physics of Beams

Alan Perelson: honored for seminal contributions to the development of dynamical models of HIV infection, for elucidating therapeutic responses of HCV, and for helping found the fields of viral dynamics and theoretical immunology. Nominated by: Division of Biological Physics 

Filip Ronning: honored for experimental contributions to understanding strongly correlated electron phenomena, particularly in cuprate and heavy-fermion systems. Nominated by: Division of Condensed Matter Physics

Alexander Saunders: honored for contributions in developing proton radiography and the LANL ultra cold neutron source, enabling new applications of nuclear science and an improved understanding of the decay of the free neutron. Nominated by: Division of Nuclear Physics 

Glen Wurden: honored for innovative approaches to plasma diagnostics applied to a wide variety of fusion confinement concepts, ranging from reversed field pinches to tokamaks to magneto-inertial fusion. Nominated by: Division of Plasma Physics 

About the American Physical Society

The American Physical Society is a non-profit membership organization working to advance and diffuse the knowledge of physics through its outstanding research journals, scientific meetings, and education, outreach, advocacy and international activities. APS represents more 50,000 members, including physicists in academia, national laboratories and industry in the United States and throughout the world.


ladailypost.com website support locally by OviNuppi Systems