Skip directly to content

Opinion

Letter To The Editor: Thank You Dr. Bradley Rowberry!

on February 20, 2019 - 3:22pm
By KAREN WARTHEN
Los Alamos

I would like to acknowledge Dr. Bradley Rowberry who has served this community for over 25 years!

Dr. Rowberry continues to practice his gastroenterologist specialty at the Endoscopy Center in Los Alamos. He is a highly accomplished doctor and yet remains a humble and kind human being. He has a wonderful, friendly, and skilled staff and leads his team with kind-heartedness.

I hope Dr. Rowberry continues to enjoy the appreciation of his patients and the respect of his colleagues for many more years.

Thank you Dr. Rowberry.

Letter To The Editor: Consider Renovating Old Smith’s Into Much Needed Community Performing Arts Center

on February 19, 2019 - 2:53pm
By MARION PACK
Los Alamos

It has been over two years now since Smiths opened their big Marketplace store. The big space in the MeriMac Shopping Center is still vacant.

I was delighted to see that one of the County Council’s priorities and concerns is to work on the many empty buildings in downtown Los Alamos.

I would like to make a suggestion to them for their consideration.

There is a GREAT NEED for a performing arts center in our town, which is readily available to the community groups.

Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Water Rates, Overflowing, And Automated Meters Coming

on February 19, 2019 - 10:54am
By BRADY BURKE
Business Services Manager
 
There is a Board of Public Utilities meeting Wednesday, Feb. 20 at the Municipal Building in the Council chambers. It is important to attend and voice your public comment for at least three topics on the agenda.
 
First, the Department of Public Utilities wants to raise your water rates … again. 6.25% this time. It seems like an annual increase.
 
As water usage has dropped due to conservation efforts by the community, the Department wants to raise rates to keep up their revenues, ostensibly for future capital improvement projects.

Letter To The Editor: Presidents Day Lament II

on February 18, 2019 - 6:24pm
By WILLIAM MEAD
Los Alamos
 
“This Presidents Day is a day of mourning for the presidency of the United States, which has been hijacked by someone who defies the Constitution, refuses to be president of all the people, and continuously degrades, denigrates, and diminishes the American presidency.” – Robert Reich, UC Berkeley
 
On this occasion last year, I explained why I mourn for America under Trump's presidency (link). This year, I’ll add a few of Trump’s most serious new gaffes.
  • Placement of Brett Kavanaugh on the US Supreme Court;
  • Mistreatment of refugees at our southern border;

Letter To The Editor: Squeezing Trinity ... Again?

on February 16, 2019 - 9:45am
By WILLIAM Mead
Los Alamos

Trinity Drive is one of a few Los Alamos arteries that carry much of our downtown and through-town traffic. It seems obvious to me that it is undesirable to restrict capacity of such an important street.

Yet, according to a recent article in the Los Alamos Daily Post, (link), Los Alamos County Public Works is again considering a major reconfiguration of Trinity in the vicinity of 35th and 36th streets in response to planned apartment construction.

I think it would be most unwise to change a smoothly functioning four-lane arterial street into a two-lane street with a

Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Thank You For Support Of Abandoned Senior Project

on February 14, 2019 - 4:08pm
By ANGELA SANCHEZ-POPE
Los Alamos

Dear Abandoned Senior Project Supporters, WCSS Group of United Church of Los Alamos, Fr. Glenn Jones and the Immaculate Heart of Mary Church and Rev. Laurie Triplett of Trinity on the Hill Episcopal Church:

This letter is to thank you personally for all your help during the 10-year tenure of the abandoned senior project. This project is very difficult and very worthy as it supports several seniors who would not otherwise have any help with clothing and toiletries during the Christmas holidays.

I especially thank the volunteers of the United Church thrift

Letter To The Editor: Comments On Politics...

on February 14, 2019 - 10:18am
By TERRY GOLDMAN
Los Alamos

Mark Twain is quoted as saying: Lies, damned lies and statistics! Some of our NM political figures are trying hard to replace the last with 'politics'.

Rep. James Townsend complains that the "rocket docket" bills are not being sufficiently vetted by committees and more reviews are required. Yet these bills were passed by substantial bipartisan majorities before being vetoed by the previous Governor.
 
So the complaint is window-dressing (to use a polite term) to make it appear that Republicans are doing something to protect New Mexicans when actually they are

Letter To The Editor: Knee Jerk Reaction Against President Trump ... Happy With Outcome?

on February 14, 2019 - 7:56am
By JEFF ROBERTS
White Rock
 
The State’s, and for that matter, the County’s knee jerk reaction against President Trump, swept Democrats into office. Are you happy with the outcome?
 
The Legislative bills now being railroaded through include:
 
1). A 53% increase in tax when you buy a new or used car and register it;
2). A 12% increase in personal income tax;
3). A 32% increase in personal income tax for higher income families (over $200 K);
4). A movement to eliminate the 3% per year allowable increase in property tax;
5). A 10 cent per gallon gasoline tax;
6). A requirement that

Letter To The Editor: A Reply...

on February 13, 2019 - 7:49am
By AARON WALKER
Los Alamos
 
Mr. Burke’s letter was very strange to me (link). There were 10 candidates that were all qualified to fill Christine Chandler’s County Council seat for different reasons. All had different backgrounds, and a differing perspective of how the county needed to position itself for the future. I was surprised by the decision, but I don’t think there was a bad choice to be made.
 
Mr. Burke’s letter is not good optics for him or the Republican Party. While he is certainly entitled to his own opinion, there is a time and a place to air it.

Letter To The Editor: County Council – (Sigh!) More of the Same

on February 12, 2019 - 7:56am
By BRADY BURKE
2018 County Council Candidate
 
In case you missed the January 29 County Council meeting, there was an agenda item to fill the Council seat vacated by Christine Chandler.
 
On Jan. 15, there was one applicant for the seat. By the deadline of Jan. 24, there were 10. The list of applicants included enthusiastic citizens, small business owners, candidates that ran in the last election, a professional engineer with a history as a professional electrician, an international negotiator that served on the Planning and Zoning Commission and another with an MBA and tons of experience.

Letter To The Editor: Eliminate Coyote-Killing Contests

on February 11, 2019 - 3:53pm
By STEPHANIE NAKHLEH
Los Alamos

I’m grateful to our new Land Commissioner Stephanie Garcia Richard for ending coyote-killing contests on state trust land.

We have more work to do, though. Legislation needs to eliminate this barbaric practice across the entire state. Once the public really understands how harmful these contests are, I feel it will overwhelmingly support eliminating them.

Across the country, tens of thousands of coyotes are slaughtered annually at taxpayer expense—a practice that is truly senseless, as the killing doesn’t serve any purpose.

Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Regarding Gordon’s Concerts

on February 9, 2019 - 6:56am
By JIM BURNS
Los Alamos
 
After 30 years of the Gordon family delivering free concerts to Los Alamos during the summer months, the county has determined to go with another vendor.
 
Whatever the reasoning for the change, I believe it will prove to be a mistake.
 
Putting aside the commitment of the Gordons to keeping the series going through both good times and rough patches, they deserve special credit for something much more.
 
Each year they invested significant time and effort to ensure a diverse lineup of artists who offer substantial musical roots and experiences. This is a

World Futures: The Distribution Of Stuff – Part One

on February 8, 2019 - 7:07am
By ANDY ANDREWS
Los Alamos World Futures Institute
 
People in the world today are dependent on stuff. If one looks at the evolution of humankind, one sees the creation of communities or societies for mutual support in continued existence.
 
Then one sees societies interacting to trade for needed and desired stuff. Today we have a human society of 7,680,256,619 people, almost 8 billion, organized in various nation-states, needing as well as producing stuff. It is stuff we really need as well as stuff we think we need, absolutely essential through frivolous. And if you go to

World Futures: Some Definitions Or Lack Thereof – Last Part

on February 6, 2019 - 7:56am
By ANDY ANDREWS
Los Alamos World Futures Institute
 
In the previous column we asked how do we pay for capitalism and socialism. To delve into this question it is good to start, again, with what is the difference between them. Is it about the individual and his or her existence or is it about a collective body of people, a community, a business, a government entity or the entire world?

 Is it about equality of opportunity and freedom of the individual or is it about equality of existence among people? Note that equality of existence may or may not include freedom.
According to Merriam

Letter To The Editor: Gun Bills Are Being Badly Hyped

on February 5, 2019 - 5:30pm
By KHAL SPENCER
Santa Fe
 
Some have lavished considerable praise over the gun control bills introduced in the Legislature. The Albuquerque Journal, saying for example of House/Senate Bill 8, the universal background check bill, that it would dissuade someone from buying a gun "...from some sketchy character in a parking lot in response to an ad on the internet...".
 
Aside from the fact that no one knows in detail how bad guys in New Mexico get their guns and recent Federal data suggest the Internet is not an important conduit, if that is what was really intended, I think the Journal
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Hell’s Hole Hysteria Irrational ... Proposed Action Unreasonable

on January 27, 2019 - 1:26pm
By KEI DAVIS
Los Alamos
 
Following the publication of articles regarding the perceived hazards of a well-known cave known as Hell’s Hole in White Rock Canyon, culminating in this one, a  group of local adults hastened to investigate before Los Alamos County destroys and makes unaccessible some unspecified fraction of it.
 
Our party was a subset of a loose-knit local community of what might be best characterized as outdoors persons, with interests ranging variously over rock climbing, canyoneering, caving, hiking, boating, etc.

World Futures: Some Definitions Or Lack Thereof Part 4

on January 26, 2019 - 12:14pm
By ANDY ANDREWS
Los Alamos World Futures Institute
 
In the last column we finished with the question “Are we capitalists or socialists?” This question was posed after we (at least I) concluded we are all liberals and we all want progress. We use the words capital, social, liberal, conservative, progressive and others with the “ism” attached.

Rewriting the words gives us capitalism, socialism, liberalism, conservatism, progressivism, and, if we want, communism.
The first recorded use of the suffix was in 1680. By the mid-1800s in the United States, “isms” had become derogatory terms, at

Letter To The Editor: Support Ending PARCC Testing

on January 26, 2019 - 11:23am
By NATALIE SINNIS and CHRISTINE TORRES
Los Almaos
 
We are writing to support Gov. Michelle Lujan Grisham’s decision to eliminate PARCC testing in New Mexico.
 
As public school teachers in Los Alamos working with grades 4-6, we have supervised the administration of PARCC testing for several years. We have witnessed first hand the shortcomings with this test and the negative impact it has had year after year.
 
As teachers, we are expected to use a holistic approach when teaching children. These needs are well beyond the range of what the PARCC testing can assess.
 
High stakes

Letter To The Editor: Public Transit Provides Economic, Environmental, Convenience And Health Benefits

on January 20, 2019 - 9:52am
By DENNIS SEGURA
Engineering Project Manager
Los Alamos County Department of Public Utilities
 
For the past 4 1/2 years, I have been a regular user of public transit, as I live near Glorieta and work in Los Alamos. I utilize the NMDOT Park and Ride, Atomic City Transit and occasionally the Rail Runner from Santa Fe to Albuquerque. I choose to take public transit for a variety of reasons, among them economics, environmental impact, convenience and health.
 
My daily commute is 100 miles round trip.

Letter To The Editor: Thank You Dr. Martin

on January 15, 2019 - 5:09am
THE HALL FAMILY
Los Alamos
 
Dear Dr. Martin,
 
We want to thank you for the care you gave to your patient, Stanley Hall, and his family.
 
The time you took with different family members to patiently answer questions and explain your diagnosis was appreciated. Your time and patience exceeded our expectations and didn’t go unnoticed.
 
Los Alamos is fortunate to have a doctor of your caliber in their community.
 

Letter To The Editor: Utilities Service During Winter Storms ... The Big Deal We Don't Notice

on January 13, 2019 - 1:50pm
By BOYD WATERS
Los Alamos
 
During these heavy winter storms, we have had steady delivery of electricity, water, and mail delivery.
 
The roads and main sidewalks have been kept clear of snow.
 
My kids think this is normal!
 
Icing on our roof interrupted our internet connection, but our provider, Los Alamos Network, had a technician here within 30 minutes after I reported it. I used my cell phone to contact them; my Verizon cellular service was working fine.
 
The only severe hardship we suffered this year was two weeks ago, a nationwide CenturyLink network outage disrupted internet and cellular

Letter To The Editor: Government Shutdown Talks – A Better Story

on January 13, 2019 - 1:10pm
By MARY SNOW
Los Alamos
 
Jan. 10, BBC published a more impartial and accurate story about the meeting between the Democratic leaders and President Donald Trump [see link] than I have seen from any other reports on the meeting by US media.
 
The direct quotes from the BBC article in this section cover most of the article:
 
President Donald Trump has walked out of a meeting with Democratic leaders as negotiations broke down on the 19th day of a partial US government shutdown.
 
Nancy Pelosi and Chuck Schumer stuck by their refusal to fund his US-Mexico border wall, prompting Mr.

Letter To The Editor: Blessed To Live In Los Alamos

on January 5, 2019 - 3:00pm
By JUDY MCKENZIE
Los Alamos
 
This last week was quite an adventure for me and I feel so blessed to live in Los Alamos.
 
My furnace shut down twice and I had no hot water for a couple of days. So many people offered help and support.
 
I thought that the furnace was resolved but it reoccurred. Waller’s Plumbing came out and worked on both problems and the County Utilities guys came and checked things out. They were so wonderful and worked in the cold weather to get me up and running.
 
Our plumbers and our County people are hard working, especially this time of year.

Letter To The Editor: Thank You To Road Crews For Great Snow Plowing

on January 3, 2019 - 9:13pm
VALARIE PRESTWOOD
Los Alamos

I would like to publicly thank the county employee who plowed Camino Uva yesterday.

He/she very carefully kept each driveway clear as the street was plowed. That is the first time that has ever happened and I am extremely grateful.

World Futures: Education, Training And The Five ‘Ws’ – Part Four

on December 27, 2018 - 3:31pm
By ANDY ANDREWS
Los Alamos World Futures Institute
 
In the first three articles of this series, we explored education and training and what people need to know or master when they emerge into society. We also examined the five “Ws” of education and training to include the accelerating expansion of knowledge and even increasing demand for mental facility and skills needed to successfully assimilate into society. And then we considered the cost to become “qualified” for something that allows the individual to lead a satisfying, controlled and rewarding life.

Pages


Advertisements