Skip directly to content

Opinion

Letter To The Editor: Wireless Metering Bad Idea...

on April 18, 2019 - 8:32am
By MIKE DEMPSEY
Los Alamos
 
Dear Los Alamos Board of Public Utilities and Los Alamos County Council. First, I would like to thank the Los Alamos Utilities Department for the Excellent Reliability and Quality of their service. For many reasons, everyday I think about how VERY THANKFUL that my family and I have electric power, clean water, natural gas and a flush toilet 24/7/365. Thank you! You are doing an excellent job!
 
I travel extensively, and have been following the issue of wireless metering of our utilities by long distance.

Letter To The Editor: If You See A Horse, Say ‘Hey’!

on April 17, 2019 - 7:31am
Courtesy photo
 
By LAURA MULLANE
Vice President, Pajarito Riding Club
 
As the weather becomes warmer and many of us head outside to enjoy the County’s excellent trail system, now is a good time to talk about how best to share the trails with horses.
 
It’s good to start with a basic understanding of how horses see the world. Horses are prey animals. This means they’re ruled by one primary fear: the fear of being eaten. Never mind that most domesticated horses today have never known anything but safe, comfortable lives.
 
Millions of years of evolution tell them that a mountain lion
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Storm Of March 13

on April 14, 2019 - 6:16am
By JIM TROUT
Los Alamos
 
The early morning of March 13, a mother of a storm (more like a cyclone bomb), hit the Jemez Mountains in the vicinity of the Valles Caldera, along S.R. 4 and into Los Alamos County.
 
Take a trip to Los Alamos and see the hundreds of trees felled as a result of this brief, violent storm.
 
Myself and 18 or 19 other vehicles were trapped on S.R. 4 in the Valles Caldera area in zero visibility, very high winds and drifting snow banks.
 
Traffic was completely stopped; some vehicles in the middle of the road and some off the road.
 
My Jeep was stuck in a
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Response To Destruction Of America

on April 13, 2019 - 9:39pm
By DENNIS LITTLE
Los Alamos
 
Ms. Bonner, I'm a firm believer in every person having their own opinion, but you've missed several facts and bits of scripture that are extremely important that are very relevant to your letter.
 
1. Not every person in Los Alamos or this country is Christian. I personally know people who are Christian (of various denominations), Jewish, Muslim, Buddhist, Mormon/LDS, Jehovah's Witness, Hindu, Sikh, Agnostic, and Atheist.
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Recent Board Resignations At Los Alamos Little Theatre

on April 13, 2019 - 9:26pm
By LAURIE TOMLINSON
Los Alamos

I am submitting this letter in response to the recent resignation of six of the ten members on the board of Los Alamos Little Theatre. Full disclosure, I have worked with every board member in some way over the past decade, and I consider some on both sides of the conflict as friends. Although I am not a current board member, I have served on the board for three terms within the last decade, and have served as a member of the publicity committee, formed this year to explore and implement new ways to increase audiences for productions.

Tags: 

Andrews: Integrity – Part One

on April 12, 2019 - 7:40am
By ANDY ANDREWS
Los Alamos World Futures Institute
 
When starting the World Futures Institute, I created a list of 18 areas that need to be addressed for the future of earth and humanity.
 
If you examine the list it is clear that every area is undergoing change and evolution. Item 16 on the list is “in transformation, how do we maintain integrity?” But it, integrity, will be evolving as well as systems, policies, and how we get along both individually and collectively.
 
So what is integrity?

The word “integrity” is related to the word “integer” meaning whole.

Letter To The Editor: Destruction Of America

on April 10, 2019 - 8:00am
By LUCILLE BONNER
Los Alamos
 
America has already been corrupted by legalization of murder of babies in the womb and has ignored the sanctity of marriage by legalization of any kind of sexual behavior. Now our Congress is considering House Resolution, HR-5, to make indecency legal in the name of equality. It proposes to make it a crime to forbid men from entering women's restrooms or showers.
 
If we are wise, we will realize that we cannot change God's laws not to murder (Exodus 20:13), to honor marriage as He planned it (Genesis 2:24), and to behave decently (Mark 7:21-23).
 

Letter To The Editor: Thanks For Outpouring Of Support For Sonic Assist Program

on April 9, 2019 - 10:00am
BERNADETTE LAURITZEN
Executive Director of C’YA

Champions of Youth Ambitions (C’YA) would like to thank the community for the outpouring of love and support for our Sonic Assist program. When snow damaged the roof awning of our local Sonic, many employees found themselves instantly out of work.

When Jordan Redmond and the Youth Activity Centers stepped up, it provided a physical location and drop off point for donations. Many community members rallied to donate canned goods and non-perishables for immediate assistance. This allowed us to step in right away.

Donations in the form of coins

Letter To The Editor: Satisfied Smith’s Customer

on April 9, 2019 - 9:09am
By BRINT PERERA
Los Alamos
 

As a cash and check user at Smith’s here in town, I can understand the frustration VISA card users have at  Smith’s recent policy of no longer accepting that credit card.

In my years of shopping at Smith’s, I have found their staff pleasant and helpful, and their product inventory to be more than adequate. Yes, there are times when I’ve shopped late at night, and found certain produce items out of stock, but that can be expected after a full day of shoppers. I don’t hold that against the store (and I’ve never heard the derogatory term “empty shelves Smith’s”).

I worked

Letter To The Editor: Alternatives To Shopping At Smith’s Marketplace

on April 2, 2019 - 9:12am
By PETER HEIMDAHL
Los Alamos
 
We were thrilled when Kroger decided to invest in a beautiful Smith's Marketplace in Los Alamos.
 
We spend $8,000 a year there using our only credit card, a United Airlines Visa. We are on a fixed income and we count on the miles we earn at Smith's to be able to travel. However, Kroger has engaged in a childish game of brinkmanship with Visa over fees, and Smith's has now banned Visa credit cards.
 
We, along with many other Visa card holders are outraged at this brazen example of corporate arrogance.

World Futures: Electricity And Other Energy – Part Four

on March 30, 2019 - 11:23am
By ANDY ANDREWS
Los Alamos World Futures Institute
 
In part three of this series we finished by implying that solar power would be insufficient to meet the energy needs and that nuclear is an alternative in the quest to eliminate dependence on fossil fuels.

If this is an unacceptable approach, then the lifestyle and organization of humanity will require significant changes. A good question is why?

Using the United States as an example, the country has a total of 2.3 billion acres of land.

Letter To The Editor: Ironically Scientists Are Ignored

on March 22, 2019 - 6:10am
By RICK NEBEL
Los Alamos

The county council has asked for input as to what the county priorities should be. Most of the suggestions have been along the lines of how to spend county/state revenues to improve the quality of life in Los Alamos. My suggestion is a little different, and I thought it would be best to put it in writing.

We do a lot of things for a lot of different people in this town. We have facilities for the swimmers, the skaters, the skiers, the tennis players, the golfers. We have many programs and facilities for children, like sports groups and Boy Scouts.

Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Disappointed In HB 51 Vote

on March 20, 2019 - 1:00pm
By Barbara Calef, co-president, LWVLA
By Rebecca Shankland, co-president, LWVLA

The League of Women Voters of New Mexico has written the following news release, which we wish to share with the community.

The League of Women Voters is deeply disappointed that the New Mexico Senate voted against HB 51, which would have repealed the outdated law making abortion a crime. New Mexico women deserve to know that a full range of healthcare will remain available to them even if Roe v. Wade is overturned.

The League believes that in a pluralistic society such as ours the individual’s right to make

Letter To The Editor: Guaje Pines Cemetery Unaffordable

on March 20, 2019 - 12:47pm
By JEFF ROBERTS
White Rock
 
My father passed away recently, a resident of Los Alamos for 60 years. We wanted to make arrangements to lay his urn next to my mother in Guaje Pines Cemetery, in an adjoining plot they had purchased years ago.
 
The plots already shared the marker with both their names. We were going to make arrangements in December, however the heavy snow precluded the internment, and were asked to postpone. We held the funeral, but waited as requested to bury the remains.
 
A few weeks ago I inquired at the county to begin the process for the internment.
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: New Gun Laws

on March 16, 2019 - 10:54am
By TERRY GOLDMAN
Los Alamos
 
Astonishingly, our newspapers report that 25 New Mexico counties and most of our 33 sheriffs have backed the view that laws are of no use in preventing crimes. What, you say, that cannot be an accurate news presentation? But it is, much more than the sheriffs and counties realize.
 
Consider: The argument presented is that bad people will ignore the new laws on registering gun sales transactions and the law will be difficult to enforce. But these same arguments apply to laws against murder, assault, rape, robbery, theft, fraud, DWI, ... you name it.
 
Now

Letter To The Editor: Minimum Wage Bill

on March 16, 2019 - 10:36am
By TERRY GOLDMAN
Los Alamos
 
Sen. William Sharer (R-Farmington) is quoted as saying: "Most of us can't all of a sudden take a 21 per cent increase" [in the minimum wage].
 
But over the last eight years, Gov. Martinez's vetoes of all minimum wage increases were allowed to stand. Did the Senator work for compromises that would have provided for increases of 2 to 3 percent a year, which could have been 'taken', gradually?
 
How can we take his concern regarding 'suddenness' seriously if he made no effort to prevent it by forging such compromises to avoid or override the vetoes?

Chandler: Editorial Shows Short-Term Thinking

on March 11, 2019 - 4:43pm

By Rep. Christine Chandler (D-Los Alamos)

As a freshman legislator, I surprised many people by asking to sit on the House Taxation and Revenue Committee. Few people think that such subjects are interesting, let alone desirable. I disagree. They are at the heart of how our state government functions.

One of our primary jobs as legislators is to ensure that the state can provide the services and infrastructure – education, roads and highways, public safety, and more – that are needed and relied upon by our businesses, families, and communities.

Shin: SB 11 Is Foolish And Self-Defeating

on March 8, 2019 - 7:33am
By LISA SHIN
Los Alamos

Predictably, our Governor signed Senate Bill 11, which would require a nonprofit entity with 501 (c) (3) status with the IRS to pay state gross receipts taxes (GRTs) and specifically targets our National Laboratory. Say what? I am deeply concerned about this issue, because as I have written before, “Our Legislature should advocate for policies that bring more job creators to our state, not drive them away.

Review: LALT Takes On ‘Church & State’

on March 5, 2019 - 7:56am
The cast of  ‘Church & State’ from left, Ian Foti-Landis, Sen. Charles Whitmore (Tim Orcutt)  Sara (Alexis Perry-Holby) and Alex Klein (Charlotte Jusinski). Courtesy/LALT
 
Review by BONNIE J. GORDON
Los Alamos Daily Post

The Los Alamos Little Theatre is presenting a first rate production of “Church & State”, a play about the collision of the personal and the political, written by Jason Odell Williams.

The play is ably directed by Patrick McDonald. The quick shifts from comedy to drama and back present a challenge to which he rises admirably.

In brief, a

Letter To The Editor: Red Vs. Blue

on March 3, 2019 - 5:37pm
By AARON WALKER
Los Alamos
 
For too long, the game of “Red Vs. Blue” politics has been played at the national level. We cheer for our “team” to win, regardless of WHO that person really is or what they stand for.
 
We look for the “R” or “D” on the ballot and check the box without thinking. Political news is not about legislation, but rather about one side attacking the other. This kind of thinking and actions are not limited to one side. Both major parties engage in belittling the others in an attempt to gain momentum for their party or attention.

Lawmakers Question Carbon Capture And Sequestration Tech Proposed In Plan To Keep San Juan Plant Running

on March 3, 2019 - 6:26am
Coal miners from San Juan County stand during a hearing Saturday on Senate Bill 489 before the state Senate Corporations and Transportation Committee. They pleaded with lawmakers to adopt an amendment to the bill that would allow the San Juan Generating Station to continue operating. Jane Phillips/For The New Mexican
 
Senate Bill 489, the sweeping Energy Transition Act, whips up tensions at a hearing Saturday before the state Senate Corporations and Transportation Committee. Jane Phillips/For The New Mexican
 
Senate Bill 489, the sweeping Energy Transition Act, whips up tensions at a

Letter To The Editor: End Of Life Options Act Shows True Compassion

on March 3, 2019 - 6:22am
By CARL A. NEWTON
Los Alamos

The now dying Vietnamese Buddhist Thich Nhat Hanh admonished us for decades to be mindful and compassionate and I struggle to practice that. While listening to the just presented CON remarks, I’m aware that the compassion that I avow is different from their sense of compassion.

My daughter is the minister of a Massachusetts Federated Church, the First Parish Church of Berlin, and the parishioners are United Church of Christ and Unitarian Universalist worshipping together.

Tenth Annual ‘Abandoned Senior’ Project A Success

on February 28, 2019 - 1:46pm
Scene from last year's abandoned senior project. Courtesy photo
 
Scene from last year's abandoned senior project. Courtesy photo
 
By Angela Sanchez-Pope
Los Alamos
 
To WCSS group of United Church of Los Alamos, Fr. Glenn Jones and the Youth Group at Immaculate Heart of Mary and Rev. Laurie Triplett of Trinity on the Hill Episcopal Church:
 
This letter is to thank you personally for all your help during the 10-year tenure of the abandoned senior project.

Letter To The Editor: Thank You For Amazing Gifts

on February 28, 2019 - 12:54pm
Jeremy Gonzales
Long Term Care Activity Therapy Supervisor
 
To the Youth Group, United Church WCSS, Rev. Laurie Triplett of Trinity on the Hill Episcopal Church and Father Glenn Jones of Immaculate Heart of Mary Church:
 
On behalf of the New Mexico Behavioral Health Institute Long Term Care residents, I would like to thank you for your donation of Christmas gifts. Your time and thoughtfulness in these amazing gifts is greatly appreciated by our residents. Many of our residents do not have family or friends, which can make the holidays a difficult time for them.

Letter To The Editor: What Don’t Democrats Understand About The Word 'Permanent'?

on February 28, 2019 - 12:50pm
By VERNON KERR
Los Alamos
 
What don’t Democrats understand about the word “Permanent”?
 
There is this $23 billion pot of money in New Mexico’s assets called the Land Grant Permanent Fund that was established in 1912 as a condition of statehood.
 
The fund is perpetuated from parcels that were set aside out of each section of land in the state with these parcels to earn revenue (leases and royalties) for the continuing maintenance of state government. This was to fund state government in perpetuity.
Tags: 

Pages


Advertisements