Scenes From LAAOR 2018 Awards Banquet

LAAOR 2018 Board of Directors and others are honored Wednesday evening at the organization’s 2018 Awards Banquet at the golf course. From left, President Carrie Montoya -Pegg, Past President David Horpedahl, Vice President Trish Maes,Secretary Jessica Hoffer and directors Pearl White, Lance Eaton and Janet Lovato and Affiliate Chair Amanda George and Mary Ann Beard who was honored for her special service to the board. Photo by John McHale/

LAAOR members honored for their years of service to the organization. Photo by John McHale/

2018 REALTOR of the Year Carrie Montoya-Pegg of EXIT Realty Advantage NM. Photo by John McHale/


The Los Alamos Association of Realtors (LAAOR), held its annual awards banquet Wednesday evening. Members and guests gathered in the community room at the Los Alamos Golf Course to honor their 2018 REALTOR® of the Year and present prestigious awards for Lifetime Achievement and Community Service.

Exit Realty Advantage NM Associate Broker Carrie Montoya-Pegg was named the 2018 REALTOR® of the Year.

Ina Acomb and Anna Earlene Caspersen each were selected to receive the 2018 Lifetime Achievement Award.

The 2018 Community Service Award was presented to Kelly Meyers of RE/MAX First.

REALTOR of the Year Committee members considered the following criteria in selecting this year’s recipient:

  • Upholds and exemplifies the REALTOR® Code of Conduct;
  • Serves the community; is active in community and civic affairs;
  • Significant contribution in the REALTOR® Association at the local, state and/or national level; and
  • Exemplifies a high level of professionalism.

Meyers is actively involved in the community:

  • Has served in numerous positions for LAAOR, including past president;
  • YMCA Board of Directors;
  • State delegate for the Democratic Convention;
  • One of Four sponsors for 100 Women Who Care;
  • Board member of Big Brothers Big Sisters Mountain Region;
  • Established endowment for Smith Auditorium;
  • Advocated for Reel Deal theater through Los Alamos County Council;
  • Church of Christ Youth group leader; and
  • Chair of personnel board at Church of Christ.

Acomb and Caspersen each were selected to receive the 2018 Lifetime Achievement Award for their many years of service to the organization. Both Acomb and Caspersen have been members of LAAOR for 45 years.

Special guest speakers at the banquet were Paul Wilson, the 2019 president New Mexico Association of REALTORS® and Jim Gautier who gave a presentation on the history of LLAAOR.

LAAOR Years of Service Pins were awarded to:

45 Years

  • Anna Earlene Caspersen
  • Ina Acomb

25 Years

  • David Horpedahl
  • Karen Hawkins

20 Years

  • Mary Anne Beard
  • Pearl White

15 Years

  • Teddie Sue Mooday
  • Timothy Beard

10 Years

  • Ian Maes
  • Kelly Myers

5 years

  • James Chrobocinski
  • Carrie Montoya-Pegg
  • Brian Tyson

The Los Alamos Association of REALTORS® will merge Jan. 1 with the Santa Fe Association of REALTORS®.

LAAOR President Carrie Montoya-Pegg ended the Wednesday awards presentation with a toast, “it has been such an honor to serve on the Los Alamos Association Board for the last three years. We originally started out calling this event the Farewell banquet, but tonight I do not say farewell or goodbye … I say here is to new beginnings!

From left, Lifetime Achievement recipient Anna Caspersen, Jim Gautier who presented the history of LAAOR, Zia Realty Group Associate Broker Devorah Gavron and Peggy Gautier. Photo by John McHale/

Real Estate Association of New Mexico President-Elect Paul Wilson is one of the guest speakers at the banquet. Photo by John McHale/

Real Estate Association of New Mexico President-Elect Paul Wilson, left, greets Tim Beard and Los Alamos Realtor Pearl White. Photo by John McHale/

EXIT Realty Advantage NM Broker/Owner Lance Eaton, left, chats with Zia Realty Group Broker/Owner James Chrobocinski and his wife Jacqueline during the event. Photo by John McHale/

RE/MAX First Associate Brokers from left, Taylor Martinez, Sarah Keane and Teddy Sue Moody. Photo by John McHale/

2018 REALTOR of the Year Carrie Montoya-Pegg, left, with her daughter Brianna Montano. Courtesy photo