Rio Arriba County Board Honors Maintenance Patrol

From left, Ojo Caliente Highway Maintenance Patrol members Leandro Campos, Steve Chavez, Lawrence Aragon, Martin Rivera, Bernie Trujillo, and Harold Goodnight. Courtesy/NMDOT


The New Mexico Department of Transportation’s Ojo Caliente highway maintenance patrol was honored Dec. 6 with a special recognition plaque presented by the Rio Arriba County Board of Commissioners at a board meeting in Espanola. The patrol was honored for its good work and service to the local communities.

Ojo Caliente patrol foreman Lawrence Aragon accepted the plaque from Commissioner Felipe D. Martinez on behalf of fellow patrol members Bernie Trujillo, Martin Rivera, Leandro Campos, Steve Chavez and Harold Goodnight.

“Often we fail to recognize those who work to maintain the roads,” Commissioner Martinez said, adding that he lives in the Ojo Caliente area and has seen the patrol in action.

The Ojo Caliente patrol maintains roads within Rio Arriba and Taos Counties on behalf of NMDOT District Five. The patrol maintains about 108 centerline miles (or 216 lane miles) including parts of US Hwy. 285, NM 111, NM 554, NM 215, NM 571, NM 576, NM 110, NM 519, NM 567, NM 414, and NM 341.

“We are honored to be recognized by the Rio Arriba County Commission,” patrol foreman Aragon said. “This lets my employees know that their hard work and dedication are not unnoticed.”

NMDOT District Five includes the counties of Los Alamos, Rio Arriba, San Juan, Santa Fe, Taos and Torrance.

From left, Commissioner Alfredo Montoya, Bernie Trujillo, Martin Rivera, Leandro Campos, Steve Chavez, Lawrence Aragon, Harold Goodnight, Commissioner Barney Trujillo, and Commissioner Felipe Martinez. Courtesy/NMDOT


LOS ALAMOS website support locally by OviNuppi Systems