Primary Candidate Forum: House Dist. 43; Judges May 9


The Los Alamos League of Women Voters invites the public to the final candidate forum to introduce candidates who have opposition in the June 5 Primary Election. Come to the forum at 7 p.m. Wednesday, May 9 at Fuller Lodge, but first enjoy refreshments at 6:30 p.m., as well as conversation with the candidates.

Candidates at May 9 forum:

  • First Judicial District Court Judge, Division 2: Gregory S. Shaffer, Donna M. Bevacqua-Young, Maria E. Sanchez-Gagne, and Jerry A. Archuleta (all Democrats);
  • First Judicial District Court Judge, Division 5: Jason Lidyard and Matthew Jackson (both Democrats); and
  • New Mexico House of Represenatives, District 43: Pete Sheehey and Christine Chandler (both Democrats).

All of the judicial candidates listed above are Democrats; there is no Republican opposition. Hence, the winner in each division will become the only candidate for the November election. The Democrat who wins the primary election for House District 43 will face Republican candidate Lisa Shin in November.

Before the Nov. 6 general election, the League will hold a round of forums for ALL of the candidates on the November ballot. These forums will include those who appeared at the May 3 forum: the top four from the County Council Democrats (David Izraelevitz, Quentin David Dimick, Sara C. Scott, James N. Robinson, Randall T. Ryti, Timothy Thomas Morrison) and the winner of the Republican Sheriff candidates (James William Whitehead and Hugh J. Rich).

Anyone who has not registered, or wishes to change their registration so they can vote in the primary, can do so online at, or at the County Clerk’s Office in the Municipal Building. The deadline is May 8.

Early voting begins 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday to Friday, May 8 to June 1 at the County Clerk’s Office.

Council Chambers and the White Rock Town Hall will be open 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday to Saturday, May 19 to June 2 for early voting.

June 5, Primary Election Day, the vote centers will be open 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. in the Council Chambers of the Municipal Building, the White Rock Town Hall, the Golf Course Community Building and the Betty Ehart Senior Center, downstairs classroom.

Absentee ballots are due by 7 p.m., June 5 to the County Clerk.

LOS ALAMOS website support locally by OviNuppi Systems