Skip directly to content

Opinion & Columns

Scribble Works Reviews: A Look at Man of Steel

on June 15, 2013 - 12:56pm

Naftali Burakovsky, left, and Lorenzo Venneri

 

Scribble Works Reviews

By Lorenzo Venneri and Naftali Burakovsky
 
A Look at Man of Steel 
 

If there was ever pressure to make a film right, it was for Man of Steel. This film had hype, Chris Nolan’s name, and the hope of an epic Justice League film. There was a lot riding on this film. Man of Steel had a ton of grand action, but it didn’t have a whole lot else. Although we hate to say it, this film was grand disappointment. Man of Steel is a $225 million children’s film that likens itself to a Power Rangers episode minus the red underwear.

How the Hen House Turns: Turkey Two

on June 14, 2013 - 11:09am
How the Hen House Turns: Turkey Two
Column by Carolyn A. (Cary) Neeper, Ph. D.

Turkey Two, these days, like Turkey One, barks at me when I open the back door, but it is only one small sound in a chorus of demanding honks, croaks, and quacks from the pen, insisting, "Let us out of here. Now!"

Since Turkey Two never quite bonded with me, the whole pecking order thing took a bad turn when she matured. Having been raised by a devoted white Silkie chicken, Turkey Two knew me only as a big female creature who daily invaded her territory and stole eggs from all the birds.

Her challenge, like

Letter to the Editor: Los Alamos Firefighters Saved My Home

on June 13, 2013 - 3:09pm
By MARIA MOJICA
Los Alamos

Thank you Los Alamos Fire Department for saving my house from burning completely on Nov. 30, 2012.
 
Our emergency reponse team in Los Alamos is absolutely top notch.
 
To all the firefighters including John Kelly and Justin Cassel who were efficient and compassionate, to the dispatcher who took my 911 call, to Mark Hartman the Electrician and Don's Plumbing for immediate emergency response and to Bernadette Naranjo, stellar agent with Farmer's Insurance for service beyond the call of duty - I send out warmest thanks.
Tags: 

Hygea Health Bite: 4 Simple Ways to Stay Healthy at Work

on June 13, 2013 - 2:21pm
Hygea Health Bite
By LISA C. BAKOSI

4 Simple Ways to Stay Healthy at Work

Is your office to blame for your muffin top? Trying to be healthy in an unhealthy workplace can be tough.

Over the years, I have been the unhealthy slug in the office and I have also been the annoying healthy one that people loath at parties. This column includes a few of my top strategies for staying healthy without becoming the annoying health nut at work. 

Keep a water bottle at work…

Water, in my opinion, is the easiest healthy habit to get into and it has the fastest payoff.

Hofmann: The LTC Basics #4

on June 13, 2013 - 7:55am

U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services offers insights into Long Term Care:
Column by SUE HOFMANN

Consumers may hear many confusing statements regarding the topic of long term care, both published in the public domain and repeated by misinformed individuals. Over the next few weeks, I will be submitting a series of columns containing accurate information provided by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, website http://longtermcare.gov. I encourage you to watch for and read these informative columns.

The LTC Basics #4: 

Who will provide your Long Term Care?

Long term care

Tags: 

Money IQ: The U.S. Economy 2013-So Far So Good

on June 12, 2013 - 11:33am
Money IQ
By ERIC LOUCKS

The U.S. Economy 2013-So Far So Good

The U.S. economy has been fairly resilient so far in 2013, despite facing many challenges. The fiscal cliff, the combination of tax increases and government spending cuts that began at the start of the year were largely averted.

The debt limit was increased, avoiding a contentious debate with potential negative ramifications for the economy. Finally the $85 billion in spending cuts that were agreed upon in 2011 as part of the debt ceiling reductions started in March of this year and are beginning to be felt across the economy.

Letter to the Editor: Graphene By The Ton

on June 12, 2013 - 11:13am
By WILLIAM T. SELLERS, Vice President
Los Alamos Entrepreneurs Network

Recently the Los Alamos Daily Post was kind enough to reprint an op-ed I wrote for the Albuquerque Journal on the complementary nature of nuclear power, as evidenced by the push for SMRs (small modular reactors) and a graphene-based desalination concept for New Mexico's large reservoirs of brackish groundwater.

Turns out that R&D, and ramp-up on the production of graphene is exceeding even my optimistic forecast, as evidenced by this entry in the blog, Next Big Future:

Tags: 

Pages


Advertisements