Nominations Open For Los Alamos History Award

Los Alamos Historical Society President Michael Wheeler presents the 2017 Los Alamos History Award to Denny Erickson for his work leading the Historical Society. The award reflects a lasting impact on Los Alamos history over time. Courtesy photo


Nominations are now open for the 2018 Los Alamos History Award, an annual prize recognizing significant contributions to preserving the world-changing history of our community. Nominations are due by Friday, Aug. 17, and the award winner will be announced Sept. 15 at the Los Alamos Historical Society’s Annual Gala and Experience Auction.

Factors that weigh heavily in consideration for the award include depth and breadth of achievement over time, volunteer commitment, and a lasting impact. Both individuals and organizations are eligible. Posthumous awards are not made, and self-nominations are not allowed. Staff and board members are not eligible during the period of their active service. Awardees are selected through a rigorous, blind voting process by the Historical Society’s Board of Directors.

Nomination forms are available online at the Los Alamos Historical Society’s website,, or in the Los Alamos History Museum, 1050 Bathtub Row. Nominations may be returned to the Museum or left at the Historical Society’s administrative offices, upstairs in the north wing of Fuller Lodge.

The Los Alamos History Award was first given in 2014. Helene Suydam and her late husband, Jerry, as well as Clay and Dorothy Perkins, received the awards for giving the Historical Society historic homes on Bathtub Row. Hedy Dunn, director emeritus of the Los Alamos History Museum, and Nancy Bartlit, former president of the Historical Society, received the award in 2015. Georgia and Gerry Strickfaden of Atomic City Tours won the 2016 award. Denny Erickson, former president of the Historical Society and co-chair of the Society’s multi-million dollar fundraising campaign, received the 2017 award.

LOS ALAMOS website support locally by OviNuppi Systems