NMBC: 12th Annual NM-AZ Book Award Winners

NMBC News:
The winners in the 2018 New Mexico-Arizona Book Awards were announced this week at a gala awards banquet at the Tanoan Country Club in Albuquerque.
Awards were presented in 58 categories, from poetry to history and nonfiction to children’s books.
1,089 books were entered in this year’s awards program and 236 of those entries were selected as finalists, which were announced in September 2018.
Entries came from large and small publishers from all across the country. Any books by Arizona or New Mexico authors or publishers were eligible as well as books that focused on either Arizona or New Mexico. Because of that entries came from small, one book publishers as well as large national publishers like St. Martin’s Press, Random House, Globe Pequot, and even Penguin Books. Many entries came from academic publishers all across the region. Entries were up 7 percent this year.
The top honors this year went to:
Best Arizona Book
Arizona’s Deadliest Gunfight
Osselaer, Heidi
Univ of OK Press
Best New Mexico Book
ABQ’s North Valley
Alexander, Francelle
Rio Grande Books
Best New Mexico Book
Farmer, W Michael
Globe Pequot
Hillerman Award for Fiction
Blood on the Cimarron
Coley, Mary
Hillerman Award for Fiction
Stealin’ from the Neighbors
Ashurst, Ed
Ed Ashurst Publishing
Steele Award for History
Into the White Sands
Varjabedian, Craig
UNM Press
Steele Award for History
Whither the Waters
Kessell, John
UNM Press
Best of Show
New Mexico Historical Chronology
Bullis, Don
Rio Grande Press
Best of Show
Paul Pletka: Imagined Wests
Scott, Amy
Univ of OK Press
The entire list of winners can be DOWNLOADED HERE.