New Mexico House Republicans Elect New Leadership


ALBUQUERQUE—The New Mexico House Republican Caucus has selected its leadership team for the 54th Legislature.

Rep. Jim Townsend (R-Artesia) will serve as the Floor Leader, Rep. Rod Montoya (R-Farmington) as House Republican Whip, and Rep. Candy Spence Ezzell (R-Roswell) as the House Republican Caucus Chair.

Rep. Townsend was elected to the New Mexico House of Representatives in 2014. Before his service in the Legislature, Rep. Townsend spent his career in the energy industry, retiring in 2012. He also served on the board of directors of a publicly traded energy company until his term of service ended last year.

“I am humbled by the confidence my fellow caucus members have shown by selecting me to serve as Floor Leader,” Townsend said. “I look forward to working with my colleagues to advance policies that will improve the lives of all New Mexicans.”

Rep. Montoya was re-elected this year to serve his third term representing New Mexico’s House Dist. 1. He has previously held various positions within the Republican Party of New Mexico (RPNM), including San Juan County Republican Party Chairman and 2nd Vice Chairman of the RPNM. He also worked as Lt. Gov. John Sanchez’s Chief of Staff in 2011. Rep. Montoya was the House Republican Whip for the 53rd Legislature as well.

“I appreciate my fellow caucus members for their support and I look forward to working with the new leadership team,” Montoya said. “Our caucus is ready to get to work to on the important issues before us.”

Rep. Ezzell was first elected to the New Mexico House in 2004. She will be serving her second term as House Republican Caucus Chair.

“I am honored that the caucus selected me to continue serving as Caucus Chair,” Ezzell said. “It is important that we as Republicans work together for the benefit of all New Mexicans.”