National Park Service Designated 34 New Communities As Certified Local Governments In 2015

NPS News:
WASHINGTON, D.C.  The National Park Service designates 34 communities from across the United States as Certified Local Governments in 2015. 
More than 1,900 communities now participate in the program which provides local governments access to historic preservation guidance and grants.
Certified Local Government (CLG) designation makes communities official partners in the portion of the federal historic preservation program which engages local, state, and federal partners to promote historic preservation at the grassroots level. 
As a Certified Local Government, communities can use expert technical historic preservation advice from the National Park Service and their respective state historic preservation offices. The designation also gives localities access to grants for historic preservation that are available exclusively from the Historic Preservation Fund for Certified Local Governments.
“We are proud that last year 34 new communities spanning the country from Florida to Washington joined us in our commitment to historic preservation and protecting what makes their cities and towns special,” said National Park Service Director Jonathan B. Jarvis. “These Certified Local Governments now have access to unique resources to preserve the heritage of their communities and promote local economic growth through tourism to their historical areas.”
Administered by the National Park Service through State Historic Preservation Offices, the Certified Local Government program links the three levels of government into a preservation partnership for the identification, evaluation, and protection of historic properties. In order to become certified a local government must meet several requirements, chief of which is committing to enforcing local and state historic preservation laws and establishing a qualified historic preservation commission. 
The following communities were designated Certified Local Governments in in 2015:
Elizabeth, Colorado
Dover, Delaware
Oakland Park, Florida
Titusville, Florida
Gray, Georgia
Hampton, Georgia
Jones County, Georgia
Forest City, Iowa
Grundy Center, Iowa
Gretna, Louisiana
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Escanaba, Michigan
Franklin, Michigan
Manistee, Michigan
Northville, Michigan
Northville Township, Michigan
Owosso, Michigan
Greenville, Mississippi
Rolla, Missouri
Mount Airy, North Carolina
Mantua, Ohio
Zoar, Ohio
Union, Oregon
Hartsville, South Carolina
Cleveland, Tennessee
Jefferson City, Tennessee
Paris, Tennessee
Savannah, Tennessee
Springdale, Utah
Norfolk, Virginia
Burlington, Washington
Millwood, Washington
Pasco, Washington
Moorefield, West Virginia
For additional information on the Certified Local Government program, visit here.