Magistrate Judges Association Elects New Officers

Los Alamos County Magistrate Judge Pat Casados. Photo by Carol A. Clark/
LACM News:
ALBUQUERQUE – Los Alamos County Magistrate Judge Pat Casados has been elected president of the New Mexico Magistrate Judges Association.
Valencia County Magistrate Judge John R. Chavez is vice president and the association’s secretary-treasurer is Eddy County Magistrate Judge D’Ann Read. The new officers were elected at the annual Magistrate Judges Conference last week in Albuquerque.
The association was established in 1970 as a nonprofit organization to help improve the Judiciary, including advocating for legislation and court funding. All sitting magistrate court judges and pro-tem judges are eligible for members. There are 60 dues-paying member judges.
Casados, who has served on the bench since 2003, succeeds Santa Fe County Magistrate Court Judge George Anaya Jr. as president. Chavez has been in office since 2014, and Read has served as a judge since 2015.
The association’s board members are Judges Karen P. Mitchell, Harding County; Matthew “Mateo”Page, Torrance County; Warren G. Walton, Colfax County; Maurine Laney, Grant County;  Keith Clayton Rogers, Chaves County; Joel Cano, Doña Ana County; Buddy Hall, De Baca County; Cynthia Sanders, McKinley County; David Finger, Lea County; Duane Castleberry, Curry County; Christopher Baca, Guadalupe County; Timothy Hodo, Union County; Tina Garcia, Valencia County; Samantha Madrid, Doña Ana County; George Anaya Jr., Santa Fe County; and L. Steve Jones of Moriarty; judge pro-tem member.
The state’s 67 magistrate court judges are subject to election every four years. Magistrate courts have limited jurisdiction and handle DWI cases, misdemeanors, traffic violations, civil actions up to $10,000 and can hold preliminary hearings to determine probable cause on felony charges.
LOS ALAMOS website support locally by OviNuppi Systems