Luján Named To Conference Committee On Legislation Addressing Opioid Epidemic

WASHINGTON, D.C. U.S. Rep. Ben Ray Luján of New Mexico’s Third District has been appointed to a conference committee that will work to complete legislation addressing the opioid crisis that is hurting communities in New Mexico and across the country. 
Conference committees are formed after the Senate and House each pass its own bills in order to work out differences between the legislation.
“The drug crisis is one that touches communities throughout New Mexico, robbing friends, family, and neighbors of a brighter future. More must be done to combat this epidemic and I look forward to this opportunity to advocate for the needs of New Mexico as this important legislation is finalized,” Luján said.  “Unfortunately, throughout this process, House Republicans have stood in the way of efforts to provide additional funding to address this crisis. I will continue to advocate for much-needed resources to expand access to treatment that will save lives.”
Luján has been a leader on this issue, spearheading the introduction of legislation last week for which he secured 90 Democratic cosponsors to provide $1.1 billion in funding to combat the drug crisis. Luján also guided legislation through the House last week that passed with unanimous support to reauthorize residential treatment programs for pregnant and postpartum women dealing with substance abuse, while also establishing a pilot program to establish innovative ways to provide treatment in non-residential settings.
The Democratic Conferees to the Opioids Bill Conference Committee are:
  • Congressman Frank Pallone of New Jersey, Ranking Member, Energy and Commerce Committee
  • Congressman John Conyers of Michigan, Ranking Member, Judiciary Committee
  • Congressman Robert C. “Bobby” Scott of Virginia, Ranking Member, Education and Workforce Committee
  • Congressman Jim McDermott of Washington
  • Congressman Gene Green of Texas
  • Congresswoman Sheila Jackson Lee of Texas
  • Congressman Joe Courtney of Connecticut
  • Congressman Steve Cohen of Tennessee
  • Congressman John Sarbanes of Maryland
  • Congressman Ben Ray Luján of New Mexico
  • Congresswoman Judy Chu of California
  • Congresswoman Elizabeth Esty of Connecticut
  • Congresswoman Ann Kuster of New Hampshire
  • Congressman Raul Ruiz of California