Los Alamos Public Safety Assoc. Awards Scholarships

Public safety scholarship recipients Michaela Robertson, left, and Lee Ann Quintana with LAPSA members from center to right, LAFD Deputy Chief Steve Dawald, LAPD Sgt. Daniel Roberts and LANL Emergency Response Group Leader Jeff Dare Thursday at UNM-LA. Photo by Carol A. Clark/ladailypost.com

UNM-LA CEO Dr. Cindy Rooney congratulates LAPSA scholarship recipients. Photo by Carol A. Clark/ladailypost.com

Los Alamos Daily Post

Members of the Los Alamos Public Safety Association (LAPSA) presented two educational scholarships to students during a meeting Thursday at the University of New Mexico-Los Alamos.

Following the application process, which included writing an essay describing their goals in pursuing a career in public safety, Michaela Robertson and Lee Ann Quintana each received $500 from LAPSA to help offset expenses in their Fire Science, Emergency Medical Services or Public Safety programs at UNM-LA.

Robertson is a certified EMT and she and Quintana intend to enter the Fire Academy in the spring.

“My goal is to become a paramedic and ultimately a flight medic,” Robertson.

Quintana intends to become an EMT.

“The Los Alamos Public Safety Association is delighted to have awarded two scholarships to UNM-LA students enrolled in the Fire/EMS/Public Safety related programs,” LAPSA President Oliver Morris told the Los Alamos Daily Post. “LAPSA is proud to partner with UNM-LA to promote and assist future first responders who help keep our communities safe.”

LAPSA was formed several years ago to create a forum for senior managers involved in public safety related positions with the Los Alamos region. Members meet to discuss areas of mutual interest, recognize accomplishments and consider what may be done to improve and coordinate public safety activities.

Membership consists of representatives of the Los Alamos Police Department, Los Alamos Fire Department, Department of Energy Los Alamos Office and Inspector General’s Office, Santa Clara Fire Department and the Federal Bureau of Investigations as well as Los Alamos National Laboratory security, emergency response, mission assurance and emergency response personnel.

The Association contributes scholarship funds to UNM-LA, supports The Family YMCA and holds annual banquets to honor an outstanding First Responder of the Year.

Public Safety Scholarship recipient Lee Ann Quintana, right, expresses her gratitude to members of LAPSA gathered for a scholarship presentation Thursday at UNM-LA. Photo by Carol A. Clark/ladailypost.com

Fire Chief Troy Hughes, left, and LANL Emergency Response Group Leader Jeff Dare are members of LAPSA and attended Thursday’s meeting at UNM-LA. Photo by Carol A. Clark/ladailypost.com

LAFD Deputy Chief Steve Dawald addresses LAPSA members and public safety scholarship recipients during the LAPSA meeting Thursday at UNM-LA. Photo by Carol A. Clark/ladailypost.com