Los Alamos High School Seniors Recognized Tuesday

Javier McTeigue-Vasquez receives the Sen. Pete Domenici Endowed Scholarship from representatives of the Los Alamos Employees Scholarship Foundation. Courtesy photo
Aaron Lauritzen, Leah Wolfsberg and Jonathan Doorn (not pictured) received the Jim Sims Memorial Engineering Scholarships from Becky Sims. Courtesy photo
LAPS News:
Sixty-seven Los Alamos High School seniors were the recipients of more than 55 awards and scholarships presented Tuesday evening at the annual Senior Recognition Ceremony in Duane Smith Auditorium.
Superintendent Kurt Steinhaus and Principal Carter Payne noted the generosity of the organizations presenting scholarships and the generosity of the students who give of their time and talents to the community. While some of the scholarships are based upon academic and athletic achievements, many also are given in recognition of community service.
Emcee Morrie Pongratz thanked the presenters and told the audience that “serving on a scholarship committee is a bittersweet task. Yes, you get to select a deserving student to receive a scholarship, bur, for every student that you are able to recognize, you have to say ‘no’ to at least 10 very worthy applicants.”
Congratulations to this year’s recipients:
Iron Athlete: Jacob Dunwoody
Black Lion Award: Cade Yost
Aaron S. Goldman Memorial Scholarships: Paulina Burnside, Duncan Fuehne and Marin Kelly
Wally Walters Memorial Scholarship: Marin Kelly
Larry Baca Memorial Scholarship: Marin Kelly and Elijah Velasquez
Athletes of the Year, Los Alamos Sports Association: Alix Hailey and Arthur Steinkamp
Explorer Post 20 Scholarships: Summer Bronson, Taran Cooley, Jesse Prime and Catherine Rousculp
Barranca Mesa Elementary School PTO Scholarship: Alix Hailey
Mountain School PTA Scholarships: Paulina Burnside and Catherine Rousculp
Piñon School PTO Scholarships: Morgan Jones and Allison Lakis
Aspen School Alumni Scholarships: Thomas Chadwick, Levi Guarello, Rebecca Miko and Sabio Thompson
Los Alamos Garden Club Scholarship: Levi Guarello
Los Alamos Golf Association Scholarships: Alicia Gonzales and Jonathan Doorn
Daedalians Award: Nicholas Berndt
VFW Auxiliary Patriot Scholarship: Noah White
Veterans of Foreign Wars John D. Gamble Post 8874 Scholarship: Javier McTeigue-Vasquez
Eastern Star Scholarship: Sabio Thompson
Karen McLaughlin Memorial Scholarship: Joanna Romero
Shirley Fries Alumni Scholarships: Haley Capon and Israel Gellis
Masonic Scholarship: Jonathan Doorn
Jennifer Marie Fleming Memorial Scholarship: Coralee Adair
Margot Pellette Memorial Scholarship: Joseph Sarrao
Pat Edmonds & Sue Graves Memorial Scholarship (Summit Garden Club): Sabio Thompson
Los Alamos National Bank Scholarships: Phoenix Dendera and Anna Lemke
Music-Filled Life Scholarships (Los Alamos Community Winds): Liam Devlin and Presley Gao
Los Alamos Light Opera Scholarships: Nora Cullinan and Jessica Erkkila
Jim Sims Memorial Engineering Scholarships: Jonathan Doorn, Aaron Lauritzen and Leah Wolfsberg
Hospital Auxiliary of LAMC Scholarships: Haley Capon, Gabriella Duran, Anna Lemke and Shawn Stokes
Los Alamos Schools Credit Union Scholarships: Bryce Gentile, Alix Hailey and Dylan Irish
Zia Credit Union Academic Scholarships: Jonathan Doorn, Antonio Gonzales and Dima Tretiak
Zia Credit Union Leadership Scholarships: Haley Capon, Alicia Gonzales and Torrie Padilla
Zia Credit Union Special Achievements Scholarship: Lindsey Martinez
Kiwanis Club of Los Alamos Scholarships: Shelly Doyle, Levi Guarello, Kaitlin Hopkins, Morgan Jones, Anna Lemke, Shannon Pestovich and Elyse Phillips
Jeannette O. Wallace Memorial Scholarship: Catherine Rousculp
Lou & Lee Pierotti Memorial Scholarship: Jillian Bennett
Stephen Stoddard Memorial Scholarships: Paulina Burnside and Mackenzie Rogers
J. Robert Oppenheimer Memorial Scholarship: Steven Zhao
J. Robert Oppenheimer Memorial Scholarship in memory of Juliamarie Langham Grilly: Sonyia Williams
J. Robert Oppenheimer Memorial Scholarship in memory of Nancy Laubach Freed: Joseph Sarrao
J. Robert Oppenheimer Memorial Scholarship in memory of Nicholas C. Metropolis: Christopher Koh
J. Robert Oppenheimer Memorial Scholarship in memory of Rosalie Heller: Jonathan Doorn
J. Robert Oppenheimer Memorial Scholarship funded by the New Mexico Consortium: Amanda Li
George & Joan Bjarke Scholarships: Israel Gellis and Morgan Jones
Irene Boone Memorial Scholarships: Tianna McNiel-White and Meghan Romero
Los Alamos Public Schools Foundation, Educator of Distinction Scholarships: Paulina Burnside, Duncan Fuehne, Israel Gellis, Morgan Jones, Javier McTeigue-Vasquez, Elyse Phillips, Catherine Rousculp, Andrea Simons, Elodie Thelliez and Genevieve Triplett
Los Alamos Public Schools Foundation Rynd Scholarship: Leah Wolfsberg
Thomas Intrator Scholarships: Javier McTeigue-Vasquez and Joseph Sarrao
Friends of Los Alamos County Libraries Scholarships: Nora Cullinan, Phoenix Dendera, Duncan Fuehne and Elodie Thelliez
June Ettinger Memorial Scholarship: Anna Lemke
Deborah Beene Memorial Music Awards:Presley Gao, Liam Devlin, Nora Cullinan and Jessica Erkkila
Rotary Great Expectation Award: Kyla Roberts
Rotary Service Awards: Paulina Burnside and Haley Capon
Rotary Vocational Award: Levi Guarello
Knights of Columbus, Sacred Heart Council 3137 Scholarships: Haley Capon, Phoenix
Dendera, Levi Guarello, Anna Lemke, Lindsey Martinez, Tianna McNiel-White, Torrie Padilla and Elijah Velasquez
LANL Foundation Bronze Scholarships: Samuel Crooks, Jonathan Doorn, Antonio Dowdy, Presley Gao, Alix Hailey, Christopher Koh, Valerie Li, Meredith McBranch, Samuel Menefee, Connor Rittner, Dima Tretiak, Leah Wolfsberg, Sonyia Williams and Steven Zhao
LANL Foundation Silver Scholarship: Elijah Pelofske
Brett Knapp Memorial Scholarship: Jared Carnes
Climate Change Leadership Institute Endowed Scholarship: Risa Bridge
Don & Connie Cobb Endowed Education Scholarship:  Haylee Hayden
Senator Pete Domenici Endowed Scholarship: Javier McTeigue-Vasquez
Coca-Cola Scholarships: Christopher Fabry-Pittman and Joanna Romero

ladailypost.com website support locally by OviNuppi Systems