Local Students Are National History Day Winners

All seven National History Day Club members won awards at the regional competition in Farmington. Standing in the back from left, Ruby Selvage, Miriam Wallstrom, Sydne Ashford, Kyler Parkinson and Liam Devlin. Kneeling in the front, from left, Sarah Shipley, Alex Ionkov and teacher Brent Collom. Courtesy photo


Four local high school students won prizes at the state National History Day (NHD) contest April 28 in Albuquerque. LAHS students Sydne Ashford and Miriam Wallstrom won second place for their website entitled “Containment Begins: How the Berlin Airlift Took a Stand Against Soviet Communism.”

The first and second place winners continue on to the next stage of the competition at the national contest in June in College Park, Md. The Ashford’s and Wallstrom’s website will be in competition against websites from every state in the nation.

LAHS students Liam Devlin and Kyler Parkinson came in third in Albuquerque with their website devoted to the Stonewall Riots, the impetus for the gay civil rights movement. They also won the LGBTQ Award, which is a monetary prize.

The National History Day Club at Los Alamos High School encourages students to delve into historic trends to understand more deeply why historic events occurred. Students select topics connected to an annual theme and must complete their own in-depth research on the topic. The 2017 theme is Taking a Stand in History, and students can create projects in one of five categories: media documentaries, museum-style exhibits, research papers, dramatic performances, or interactive websites.

In March all seven of the NHD Club students traveled to Farmington for the regional competition there, and all seven earned awards that allowed them to compete in Albuquerque. Now Ashford and Wallstrom will carry on the LAHS tradition of attending the NHD national competition!

The National History Day program in New Mexico is coordinated by the New Mexico Humanities Council and is sponsored by the New Mexico Department of Cultural Affairs and the National Hispanic Cultural Center.