Letter To The Editor: Thank You From Los Alamos Historical Society

Ron Wilkins, Past President of the Historical Society and Mike Wheeler, Current President of the Historical Society. Courtesy photo
2016 Los Alamos History Award winners Georgia and Gerry Strickfaden and Mike Wheeler. Courtesy photo
2016 Gala Chair
The Los Alamos Historical Society Gala’s “Sneak Preview” Sept. 10 raised more than its $10,000 goal for changing exhibits, lecture series, maintenance at the Historic Hans Bethe House, conservation work on items in their collection and the Los Alamos Japan Project. There are many people to thank who made this event successful.
Brian D’Andrea and TechSource came on board as our corporate sponsor. The Blue Window did an outstanding job with food and drink and navigated the challenge of construction closing the front and kitchen entrances to Fuller Lodge. The Los Alamos Little Theater entertained and gave us a sneak preview of their 1940’s Radio Show directed by Gretchen Amstutz and Laurie Tomlinson.
Elizabeth Brousha provided harp music for the pre-event reception at the historic Hans Bethe House where Gerry and Georgia Strickfaden were awarded the 2016 Los Alamos History Award. Guests had their photos taken by Tara Key of Key Photography and Jeff Favorite served as Master of Ceremonies and auctioneer. After-dinner dance music was provided by the Los Alamos Big Band.
The evening featured a silent and live auction and raffle. New this year was the opportunity to bid on conservation work for special items in the collection. Shay Kendricks expertly coordinated the silent auction. Live auction items focused on experiences and were donated by Key Photography, Georgia Strickafden, Abiquiu Inn and Georgia O’Keeffe Home, Strater Hotel in Durango and Purgatory ski area, Joan and Gary Salzman, the National Museum of Nuclear Science & History, Cornerstones Community Partnerships, New Mexico Wine Tours, the Indian Arts Research Center, and Southwest Detours. The raffle item was donated by Blue Window Bistro.
Other businesses and organizations who helped make the event special include Los Alamos County, Frank’s Supply, Aspen Copies, Rayburn Design, Los Alamos Daily Post, the Los Alamos Monitor and Albuquerque Tents.
Many volunteers contributed to the success including Mark Rayburn, David Court, Ron Wilkins, Hedy Dunn and Debby Holgerson, as well as Historical Society staff Judith Stauber, Amiee Slaughter, Todd Nickols, Don Cavness, Stephanie Yeamans, Jennifer Bennett, Kallie Funk and Heather McClenahan.
Mark your calendars for next year’s Gala Sept. 16, 2017 when the 100th Anniversary of the Ranch School will be celebrated.