League Of Women Voters Of Los Alamos Elects New Board, Plans Coming Year

The new League of Women Voters of Los Alamos Board of Directors was voted into office at the Annual Meeting Tuesday, April 17. Top row from left, Amy Birnbaum, Sandra West, Karyl Ann Armbruster, Ellen Mills, Akkana Peck and Julie Williams-Hill. Bottom row from left, Lynn Jones, Co-presidents Rebecca Shankland and Barbara Calef and 2nd Vice President Leslie Wallstrom. Not pictured are Secretary Rosmarie Frederickson, Jody Benson and Treasurer Kathy Taylor. Photo by Jean Dewart



At its Annual Meeting April 17, the League of Women Voters of Los Alamos elected a new board and approved its program for the coming year.
With the upcoming primary election, the League will sponsor two candidate forums. More candidate forums and a Voter Guide will precede the general election.
Locally the League will continue its monthly Lunch with a Leader events and monitoring of County Council, the Board of Public Utilities and other County entities. A forum on early childhood education in New Mexico is scheduled for Sept. 6.
The state League is continuing studies of the Transfer of Federal Public Lands and of Spent Nuclear Fuel Waste Storage, as well as an update of its Health Care position. The state League continues to advocate for its positions at the New Mexico Legislature.

ladailypost.com website support locally by OviNuppi Systems