LAHS 2017 Honors Convocation Presents Athletic Awards Including Athletes Of The Year Sienna Ahlers And Nicholas Quartieri

The Voice of the ‘Toppers Gene Mortenson presents the girls 2017 Athlete of the Year award to Sienna Ahlers. Photo by John McHale/ 

Mike Maez Cote, left, and Gene Mortenson, from the Los Alamos Sports Association, presents the 2017 boy’s Athlete of the Year to Nicholas Quartieri. Photo by John McHale/

The Black Lion Award was presented to Stefan Brenner by football Coach Garett Williams. Photo by John McHale/



The Los Alamos High School 2017 Honors Convocation was held Tuesday in Duane Smith Auditorium. Included in the ceremony were the athletic awards. The Los Alamos Sports Association, made up of the media including Dave Sutton of KRSN, the Voice of the Hilltoppers Gene Mortenson, Mike Maez-Cote who does the play-by-play on KRSN of Toppers games, Rick Picard who does the hockey games on KRSN and John McHale who takes the sports photos for the Los Alamos Day Post, presented the outstanding boy and girl Athlete of the Year award.

This year’s boys athlete winner was football quarterback Nicholas Quartieri. Quartieri accumulated a very impressive list of statics this past football season as well as in his participation in baseball and golf.

The girl’s recipient for the 2017 season was Sienna Ahlers. Ahlers had a stellar soccer career at Los Alamos High School. She accumulated many district and state recognitions and awards, as well as in her participation in basketball and track.

Awards and Scholarships

  • Aaron S. Goldman Memorial Scholarship: a cross country award presented to Brandon Bao, Madeline Beck and Malakai Coblentz.
  • Wally Walters Memorial Scholarship: presented to Chris Buntain.
  • Black Lion Award: presented to Stefan Brenner.
  • Iron Athlete Award: presented to Sienna Ahlers.
  • Los Alamos Golf Association Scholarship: presented to Faith Koh and Elizabeth Lockhart.
  • Three Letter Athlete Award: presented to: Sienna Ahlers, Kaitlyn Bennett, Kenidee Hatler and Elizabeth Lockhart.
Stefan Brenner
Nicholas Quartieri
Chris Buntain
Elizabeth Lockhart