J. Robert Oppenheimer Memorial Committee Honors 2018 Scholarship Winners

Front row. from left, Emily TenCate, mentor; Lawrence Mirabal and Ashlyn Vigil, scholarship winners; Samantha Jones, keynote speaker. Back row from left, Tenisha Williams, mentor; Junseo Kim and Matilde Jacobson, scholarship winners; Benigno Sandoval and Ayobami Shoyinka, mentors; Matthew Quintana, scholarship winner. Not pictured, David Gao, Zoe Hemez, Phillip Martin, Benjamin Rees, Priyanka Velappan. Photo by Chris Hazard
The J. Robert Oppenheimer Memorial Committee (JROMC) honored its 2018 scholarship winners and their parents Aug. 13 during an event at Cottonwood on the Greens. 
The event featured Samantha Jones, a science writer and editor at Chemical and Engineering News, who gave a talk about effective communication in the sciences. The students also had a chance to meet with early career peer mentors to discuss career trajectories, mentoring, communication with mentors and peers, and maintaining a healthy work-life balance.
Awarding scholarships is a major focus of the Oppenheimer Committee. Thanks to funding by Los Alamos National Bank and the New Mexico Consortium plus several endowed and privately funded scholarships, the Committee awarded 10 scholarships this year.

ladailypost.com website support locally by OviNuppi Systems