Historical Society Accepting Nominations For 2015 Los Alamos History Award

Los Alamos Historical Museum. Photo by Carol A. Clark/ladailypost.com



The Los Alamos Historical Society is accepting nominations for the 2015 Los Alamos History Award, an annual award that recognizes a significant contribution to preserving the world-changing history of our community.


Factors that weigh heavily in consideration for the award include depth and breadth of achievement over time, volunteer commitment, and a lasting impact. Both individuals and organizations are eligible. Self-nominations are not allowed.


The winner will be selected by a group that includes Los Alamos Historical Society staff and board members. Therefore, staff and board members are not eligible during the period of their active service.


Nomination forms are available on the Society’s website, www.losalamoshistory.org or in the Historical Museum. Nominations are due by Friday, Aug. 7. They may be emailed to info@losalamoshistory.org, mailed to PO Box 43, Los Alamos, NM 87544 or left in a sealed envelope at the Los Alamos Historical Museum, 1050 Bathtub Row.

The winner will be announced Saturday, Sept. 12, during a ticketed reception at the historic Hans Bethe House on Bathtub Row. More information on the reception will be available soon or contact the Historical Society’s administrative office at 505.662.6272.

In 2014, its inaugural year, the Los Alamos History Award went to Helene and Jerry Suydam and Clay and Dorothy Perkins, all of whom made it possible for the Historical Society to acquire the Bathtub Row homes of J. Robert Oppenheimer and Hans Bethe.

Exhibit planning for the Bethe House is underway; the Oppenheimer House remains in a life trust and will be turned over to the Society when the family in residence decides to move.


ladailypost.com website support locally by OviNuppi Systems