Heinrich Votes to Advance New Mexico FERC Nominations

U.S. Sen. Martin Henrich


Sen. Martin Heinrich, D-N.M. voted Wednesday in the Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources to advance Bureau of Reclamation Commissioner nominees Norman C. Bay and Estevan López for membership on the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC). Both nominees are New Mexico natives.

President Obama has indicated his intention to designate Bay as chairman of the FERC once he is confirmed. Bay and López’s nominations will move forward for a final Senate confirmation vote at a later date.

During their nomination hearings in May, Heinrich introduced Bay and López to the Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources.

“I believe Mr. Bay will be an outstanding member of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission,” he said. “Mr. Bay’s extensive experience will help address our energy challenges in New Mexico and across the country. I am very confident he will judiciously implement the laws focused on FERC’s statutory responsibilities of energy infrastructure, competitive markets, and reliability … I look forward to voting for his confirmation.

“I’m pleased the committee recognizes Estevan López’s qualifications to lead the Bureau of Reclamation. With the western United States experiencing extreme weather conditions and water levels decreasing to dangerously low levels in nearly every river basin, having a skilled and experienced commissioner is more important than ever. I look forward to supporting Mr. López when his confirmation goes to the Senate for a floor vote.”



ladailypost.com website support locally by OviNuppi Systems