Heinrich To Participate In ‘All-Nighter’ To Urge Action On Climate Change

U.S. Sen. Martin Heinrich


WASHINGTON, D.C. – Immediately following votes tonight until approximately 9 a.m. ET Tuesday, March 11, U.S. Sen. Martin Heinrich, D-N.M. will join senators from the Senate Climate Action Task Force on the Senate floor to urge action on climate change. A significant number of senators are expected to participate throughout the night. 

“Tonight we will illustrate that climate change is not theoretical and cannot be ignored. We will discuss how sound science can be used to better understand and manage climate impacts. And we’ll highlight the moral imperative we have in Congress to implement solutions,” Heinrich said. “If we have any hope of reversing the effects of climate change — and we truly must — it’s critical that we embrace this challenge now and lead the world in innovation, efficiency, and clean energy.”

Heinrich, a member of the U.S. Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources, will speak on the Senate floor at approximately 1:15 a.m. ET Tuesday, March 11. Tune in to C-SPAN 2 via live stream. A recording of the speech will be made available to the media. Follow on Twitter using #Up4Climate.

The list of senators expected to participate includes:

  • Majority Leader Harry Reid, D-Nev.
  • Sen. Dick Durbin, D-Ill.
  • Sen. Charles Schumer, D-N.Y.
  • Sen. Patty Murray, D-Wash.
  • Sen. Brian Schatz, D-Hawaii
  • Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse, D-R.I.
  • Sen. Barbara Boxer, D-Calif.
  • Sen. Dianne Feinstein, D-Calif.     
  • Sen. Ron Wyden, D-Ore.   
  • Sen. Bill Nelson, D-Fla.   
  • Sen. Maria Cantwell, D-Wash.       
  • Sen. Benjamin L. Cardin, D-Md. 
  • Sen. Bernard Sanders, I-Vt.           
  • Sen. Amy Klobuchar, D-Minn.                   
  • Sen. Mark Udall, D-Colo. 
  • Sen. Tom Udall, D-N.M. 
  • Sen. Jeanne Shaheen, D-N.H.       
  • Sen. Jeff Merkley, D-Ore. 
  • Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand, D-N.Y.     
  • Sen. Al Franken, D-Minn. 
  • Sen. Richard Blumenthal, D-Conn.         
  • Sen. Chris Murphy, D-Conn.     
  • Sen. Martin Heinrich, D-N.M.     
  • Sen. Angus King, I-Maine
  • Sen. Tim Kaine, D-Va.     
  • Sen. Elizabeth Warren, D-Mass.
  • Sen. Edward J. Markey, D-Mass. 
  • Sen. Cory Booker, D-N.J.