Heinrich: Nominees To U.S. Service Academies

U.S. Sen. Martin Heinrich
WASHINGTON, D.C. U.S. Sen. Martin Heinrich (D-N.M.) has announced his nominees to the United States Service Academies including Javier McTeigue and Neil Wilkerson of Los Alamos.
A nomination is required to attend the U.S. Military Academy (West Point), the U.S. Naval Academy, the U.S. Air Force Academy, and the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy–the Coast Guard Academy does not require a nomination. Being nominated is a significant honor. The application process is rigorous, and only the most qualified and meritorious candidates receive a nomination.
“Our service academies provide exceptional education and training that prepare students for leadership roles in our armed forces as well as the skills needed to succeed after their military service,” Heinrich said. “I’m pleased to announce and congratulate this year’s nominees–these students have shown remarkable initiative and I commend them on their commitment to serve our country.”
Our nation’s service academies offer four-year college educations to qualified students. Graduates of the U.S. Military Academy (West Point), the U.S. Naval Academy, the U.S. Air Force Academy, the Merchant Marine Academy, and the Coast Guard Academy receive commissions in the Army, Navy, Marines, Air Force, Merchant Marine, or Coast Guard, and are obligated to serve for at least five years after graduation.
The following students received nomination through Senator Heinrich’s office:
United States Military Academy at West Point, New York
  • Javier McTeigue of Los Alamos
  • Esperanza Varoz of Albuquerque
  • Theodore Coyle of Albuquerque
  • Noah Rodney of Albuquerque
  • Corbyn Foster of Farmington
  • Jeremy Stevens of Las Cruces
  • Gunner Schwab of Farmington
  • Miles Lewis of Carlsbad
  • Eric Borrego of Rio Rancho
  • Sungmin Park of Albuquerque
United States Naval Academy at Annapolis, Maryland
  • Neil Wilkerson of Los Alamos
  • Cristina Esparza of Anthony
  • Cameron Mayo of Albuquerque
  • Dominic Morgan of Santa Fe
  • Thomas Smith of Bosque Farms
  • Devin Marshall of Albuquerque
  • Kieran Binkley of Las Cruces
  • Matthew Gardiner of Bernalillo
  • Morgan Fortin of Albuquerque
  • Hannah Grenemyer of Albuquerque
United States Air Force Academy at Colorado Springs, Colorado
  • Alexandria Forrester of Albuquerque
  • Aaron Hill of Albuquerque
  • Natalie Zannino of Rio Rancho
  • Jared Montgomery of Rio Rancho
  • Marlene Lorber of Albuquerque
  • Kaci Jarry of Albuquerque
  • Deante Bernard of Albuquerque
  • Yasemin Emami of Los Lunas
  • James Burroughes of Clovis
  • Keiko Yamamoto of Albuquerque
United States Merchant Marine Academy at Kings Point, New York
  • Kole Simmons of Albuquerque
  • Marcos Salazar of Albuquerque
  • Jake Leible of Roswell
  • Robert Godshall of Albuquerque
  • Matthew Gardiner of Bernalillo
  • Eric Borrego of Rio Rancho
  • Sungmin Park of Albuquerque
  • Keiko Yamamoto of Albuquerque