First League Candidate Forum For 2018 Primary Election: UNM-LA May 3


The Los Alamos League of Women Voters invites the public to the first of two candidate forums to introduce candidates running in the June 5 Primary Election. This forum is at 7 p.m. Thursday, May 3 at UNM-LA, with refreshments and conversation with the candidates at 6:30 p.m.

This first forum is for the six Democrats running for County Council and the two Republicans running for County Sheriff. The candidates for County Council (four positions open) are David Izraelevitz, Quentin David Dimick, Sara C. Scott, James N. Robinson, Randall T. Ryti, Timothy Thomas Morrison (all Democrats). The candidates for County Sheriff are James William Whitehead and Hugh J. Rich (both Republicans).

A second forum for candidates running for First Judicial District Court Judge, Divisions 2 and 5, and for New Mexico House of Representatives, District 43, is 7-9 p.m. Wednesday, May 9 at Fuller Lodge, with refreshments and conversation with the candidates at 6:30 p.m.

For the second forum the judicial candidates for Division 2 are Gregory S. Shaffer, Donna M. Bevaqua-Young, Maria E. Sanchez-Gagne and Jerry A. Archuleta. For Division 5 the candidates are Jason Lidyard and Matthew Jackson. All of these judicial candidates are Democrats; there is no Republican opposition. Hence, the winner in each division will become the only candidate for the November election. 

Democratic candidates Pete Sheehey and Christine Chandler, running for New Mexico House District 43 will attend the second forum. 

Before the Nov. 6 general election, the League will hold a round of forums for ALL of the candidates on the November ballot. 

Anyone who has not registered, or wishes to change their registration so they can vote in the primary can do so online at, or at the County Clerk’s Office in the Municipal Building. The deadline is May 8.

In addition, the County Clerk’s office will have a voter registration drive April 25 at Los Alamos High School and May 1 at UNM-LA.

Early voting is 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday to Friday, May 8 to June 1, at the County Clerk’s Office.

Council Chambers and the White Rock Town Hall will be open 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday to Saturday, May 19 to June 2 for early voting.

The vote centers including Council Chambers, the White Rock Town Hall and Golf Course Community Building will be open 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., June 5, Primary Election Day.

Absentee ballots are due by 7 p.m, June 5 to the County Clerk.

LOS ALAMOS website support locally by OviNuppi Systems