Dr. Donald J. Dudziak Honored With Rockwell Lifetime Achievement Award

American Nuclear Society honors Alamos National Laboratory Fellow Emeritus Dr. Donald J. Dudziak. Courtesy photo

ANS News:

LA GRANGE PARK, Ill. – For his 50 years of service, the American Nuclear Society (ANS) has awarded Dr. Donald J. Dudziak the Rockwell Lifetime Achievement Award.

The award recognizes Dr. Dudziak’s half-century of contributions to research, development, education and mentoring related to radiation shielding and protection.

“Outstanding professionals such as Dr. Dudziak enhance the nuclear community and bring an incredible amount of expertise and knowledge to their work,” said Dr. Michaele (Mikey) Brady Raap, ANS president. “I’m pleased to honor Dr. Dudziak for his five decades of service to the nuclear industry. I look forward to hearing of his contributions for many years to come.”

Dr. Dudziak is a Fellow Emeritus at Los Alamos National Laboratory, an ANS Fellow and a respected technical author. Dr. Dudziak received a bachelor’s in marine engineering from the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy, a master’s in radiological physics and radiation biology from the University of Rochester, and a doctorate in applied mathematics from the University of Pittsburgh.

The Rockwell Lifetime Achievement Award was established in honor of Theodore (Ted) Rockwell II, a nuclear engineer influential in the development and application of nuclear power. One of his most notable achievements included his work in the Manhattan atomic bomb project at Oak Ridge, Tenn. The award is based on long-term or lifetime achievement in research, technology development, or education in the fields of radiation protection, shielding or dosimetry. Most recipients are authors of publications that have made significant contributions to the art of radiation protection and shielding.

Dr. Dudziak was previously presented at a Radiation Protection and Shielding Division Function.

Established in 1954, ANS is an international professional organization of engineers and scientists devoted to the peaceful applications of nuclear science and technology. Its more than 11,000 members represent government, academia, research laboratories, medical facilities and private industry.