DPNM Welcomes New Legislative Leadership Team

DPNM News:

Democratic Party of New Mexico welcomes the news that the Democrats in the legislature selected their leadership teams.

These announcements come after the New Mexico House moved from Republican majority to a Democratic majority and Democrats gained two seats in the New Mexico Senate.
N.M. Senate Democrats elected Sen. Peter Wirth to lead the New Mexico Senate as Majority Leader and Rep. Brian Egolf to lead the New Mexico House as Speaker; his nomination will go to a vote in January during the legislative session.
“After a hard fought election, we’re pleased to have strong and capable legislators leading Democrats in the legislature,” said Debra Haaland, Chairwoman of the Democratic Party of New Mexico. “This election New Mexicans said loud and clear that they would rather have leaders who will work to build opportunity for all New Mexicans … we’re confident that this new leadership team will ensure all New Mexicans have a chance to get and stay ahead.”
Also part of the Democratic leadership in the New Mexico House are Rep. Sheryl Williams Stapleton (D-Albuquerque) elected majority floor leader, Rep. Doreen Gallegos (D-Las Cruces) elected majority whip and Rep. D. Wonda Johnson (D-Gallup) elected Democratic caucus chair.
In the senate, Democrats re-elected Sen. Michael Padilla (D-Albuquerque) as majority whip and Sen. Jacob Candelaria (D-Albuquerque) as caucus chair. Sen. Mary Kay Papen (D-Las Cruces) was nominated as Senate president pro tem, and will be voted on by the Senate Chamber during the legislative session.