Democrats Nominated At Pre-Primary Convention

Political newcomer Alan Webber, candidate for governor, emerges in second place from Saturday’s Democratic Pre-Primary Convention. Courtesy photo

DPNM News:

More than 1,800 Democrats from across New Mexico came together for Saturday’s Pre-Primary Convention at the Route 66 Casino Hotel on Laguna Pueblo to introduce and nominate their 2014 Democratic statewide candidates.

Sen. Howie Morales at Saturday’s Pre-Primary Convention. Courtesy/DPNM

Sen. Howie Morales led in the race for governor with 29 percent of the vote, followed by Allan Webber at 21 percent, Lawrence Rael with 20 percent, Linda Lopez at 18 percent and Gary King at 10 percent.

Tim Eichenberg led in the race for state treasurer with 52 percent, followed by John Wertheim at 40 percent and Patrick Padilla with 7 percent.

In the 2nd Congressional District race, Roxanne Lara led with 85 percent to Leslie Endean-Singh’s 15 percent.

U.S. Rep. Ben Ray Lujan received more than 98 percent of the vote.

“Democrats came together fired up and ready to beat Governor Martinez, send Steve Pearce home and elect a qualified, experienced candidate as Secretary of State. Democrats have the best ideas, vision and candidates to lead our state forward to improve the lives of working men, women and their families for the future,” Chairman Sam Bregman said.

The top vote getters from Saturday’s convention will be paced on the ballot for the June 3 Primary Election.