Del Norte Credit Union Announces 2017-18 DNCU Scholarship Winners

DNCU News:
SANTA FE — Del Norte Credit Union, northern New Mexico’s hometown financial co-op, is pleased to announce the winners of the DNCU Scholarship program for 2017-18.
The 10 winners each will receive $1,000 toward their higher education for the 2017-18 school year.
“Our DNCU Scholarship program demonstrates our commitment to supporting young people in New Mexico, in line with our mission of Improving Lives,” DNCU President and CEO Chuck Valenti said. “We are very pleased this year to offer 10 scholarships to deserving students in Northern New Mexico.”
DNCU increased the number of awards from seven to ten for 2017-18 and also made the awards available to homeschool and GED students, in addition to those with a high school diploma.
DNCU’s Scholarship Award is a $1,000 award given to members in good standing who are in pursuit of higher education at any college, university, or vocational school. Winners are chosen based on their academic record, work experience, statement of goals, and demonstrated leadership in their schools and communities. Selection of recipients is made by Scholarship Management Services, a division of Scholarship America.
“I am very pleased and thankful to be a recipient of this award,” said scholarship winner Katelynn Tafoya-Montoya of McCurdy Charter High School in Espanola.
The DNCU Scholarship winners for 2017-18:
  • Elena Abeyta – Los Alamos High School, Los Alamos;
  • Jacob Hollis – Covenant Heart Academy Homeschool, Los Alamos;
  • Justin Lemke – Los Alamos High School, Los Alamos;
  • Esperanza Ortega-Tapia – Los Alamos High School, Los Alamos;
  • Dominic Roybal – Pojoaque Valley High School, Pojoaque;
  • Katelynn Tafoya-Montoya – McCurdy Charter High School, Española;
  • Maia Beingessner-Chavez – St. Michael’s High School, Santa Fe;
  • Adan Casados – Española Valley High School, Española;
  • Iain Currie – Santa Fe High School, Santa Fe; and
  • Mario Martinez – Española Valley High School, Española.